“Learning a New Language” April 2014 Napowrimo day 2

In the evenings,
my cat likes sitting in my lap,
I give him snacks and affection.
At night he purrs while resting
on my bed, I’m beginning to learn his language.

Process notes:
Our cat Back, was never my cat, he was Michael’s. Since Michael’s passing, he and I are bonding beautifully. I remember only six months ago when he wouldn’t even allow me to pet him, always shunning me. I even said to Michael one evening, “Back doesn’t like me,” and Michael replied, “Don’t be silly, he loves you.” Back has turned out to be a great comfort for me, he’s gentle and quite loving.

Back in 2012

Back in 2012

22 responses to ““Learning a New Language” April 2014 Napowrimo day 2

  1. I don’t think cats have room enough for more than one person at a time.

  2. Back is grieving too, and he knows you are – it is wonderful for both of you that he has come close to you. Comfort, for you both.

  3. I agree with both Barb and Sherry. Just glad you have a small beating heart to cuddle up with…

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  4. He’s got your back. And your lap. And your heart. Hooray for Back! I’m happy he’s there for you, and Michael knew it all along. Comfort, purrs, kneading, needing.

  5. This is so touching–in a way, you are filling the void that Michael left for each other. How did he get his name?

    • Victoria, I think you are right. His name is an acronym; Berenice, Antonio, Christian, Katia. Friends/students from the company I worked at here for two years.

  6. ha. mine likes to curl up under my chin
    i have some of the best conversations with my cat too…
    smiles.

  7. He does talk to me also, which is something new as well, Brian.

  8. I’m glad you have a cat for mutual comforting.

  9. A lovely companion.

  10. It’s good to see you finding each other, pamela–a cat is a very soothing thing, and I think it works both ways.

  11. cats and dogs dogs and cats i don’t know which i love more…. happy to hear you are finding comfort from a close friend….

  12. I read or saw somewhere that a cats purr is healing. The hurtz level helps human heal.
    http://dailyinfographic.com/the-healing-power-of-cat-purrs-infographic

    Please accept my belated sympathy.~Jules

I appreciate all comments.

