>remedios POW #14 Spanish sprinkle series

>

Remedios the Beauty

a first child

most beautiful woman in Macondo

como rayos de luna que se dirigen hacia tus ojos

naively innocent

as moonbeams fall and I drift into your eyes

inherited great lucidity

as if returning from twenty years of war

she rejects clothing and beauty

siento como si te hubieras marchado desde hace tiempo

too beautiful and arguably too wise for the world

I feel as if you left a long time ago

any man who loves or lusts

undeniably shall meet his end

most innocently she dances around in light

Remedios ascends into the sky one morning

envolviéndome nuevamente con suspiros

Suave y ligero al tacto

surround me once again with whispers

soft and light to the touch

process notes:

As moonbeams fall and I drift into your eyes

I feel as if you left a long time ago

Surround me once again with whispers

Soft and light to the touch

Como rayos de luna que se dirigen hacia tus ojos

Siento como si te hubieras marchado desde hace tiempo

Envolviéndome nuevamente con suspiros

Suave y ligero al tacto

20 responses to “>remedios POW #14 Spanish sprinkle series

  1. >Pamela, This is stunning. I still remember that Remedios almost scorned her beauty, and didn't bathe forever. Ah, though she aroused the lust of many men, and the downfall. Thank you for bringing her to your poem. This is a gift. ~Brenda

  2. >Brenda what a nice thing to say!I love Gabriel Garcia Marquez!Pamela

  3. >It's been too long since I read that magical book, but your poem nudges my memory in the nicest possible way. (glad you added the translation. I'm not up to the subtlety)

  4. >Thanks Barb and it is indeed magical!Pam

  5. >I just recognised enough to pick up the Spanish meanings in the repeated translations which made the second read so much more enjoyable.

  6. >Thanks Stan!Pamela

  7. >I like the delicacy and softness..unfortunately not familiar with Marquez or Spanish!

  8. >Rall that is a nice compliment!you should try something by Marquez he is interesting.Pam

  9. >A hymn to beauty. Favourite lines: 'surround me once again with whispers' and 'as moonbeams fall and I drift into your eyes'

  10. >Yes, this is such a gentle sound helped mucho by the soft sibilance of the Spanish! Quite dreamy, Pamela!WV: bastosse

  11. >Thanks Viv!Pamela

  12. >Thanks Derrick!Pamela

  13. >hmmmmmm Remidios in Macondo..beneath moonbemas….AND a few mojitos…Ok…..nicely written Pam

  14. >Such a lovely and sensual take on the prompt and book!

  15. >Thanks WayneI love mojitos yum!Pam

  16. >Thanks Francis the book is magical!Pamela

  17. >This is beautifully done, Pamela.

  18. >Thanks Tillybud!Pamela

  19. >awesome job on poetry..

I appreciate all comments.

