>A funeral~sunday scribblings #235 flashback/ poets united #11 poetry pantry

>As I sat in the pew,
while they prayed for your soul.
To be delivered from evil.
flashback
I knew not my lines in this life.
I looked at your body, covered in a shroud
of fine wool tailoring, a matching silk tie.
flashback
Powdered skin, blushed cheeks.
Unlike you in real life, to me frightening, surreal.
Cold to the touch, a dreaded kiss on an icy cheek.
flashback
An obligation, we must say goodbye.
We shall dance round the pyre …
It’s just a flashback

22 responses to “>A funeral~sunday scribblings #235 flashback/ poets united #11 poetry pantry

  1. >I liked the pace and darkness of this poem, and great for the sunday scribblings prompt!

  2. >Funerals are very hard, and no one ever really looks as they looked in life. Your poem captured that!

  3. >Pamela this poem is powerfully sad, yet beautiful. Funerals i have had my share of them as so many have…as Mary said they are very hard…

  4. >You've captured the feels of funerals very well. Great work! =)-Weasel

  5. >…An obligation, we must say goodbye.We shall dance round the pyre …It’s just a flashback……yes indeed.

  6. >Pamela, always hard to say good-bye, but it is something we must do. Not easy.

  7. >awesome piece…Pamela, so sad views in this case,lovely job.

  8. >A surreal feeling to this! Such a sad piece.

  9. >It is very difficult to put into words the thoughts that flash ( and flashback) across the mind at a funeral, but you have done it so well. A very empathetic write.

  10. >Thanks Alice!Pamela

  11. >Mary thanks and I attended my first funeral when I was five years old. So I tried to capture how I felt at that moment. Which is still quite vivid. Something like that can stay with you for a life time.Pamela

  12. >Carrie thanks and yes they can.Pamela

  13. >Thanks Weasel!Pamela

  14. >Thanks Dasuntoucha!Pamela

  15. >Very true Diane.Pamela

  16. >Thanks Jingle!Pamela

  17. >Thanks for visiting Ana!Pamela

  18. >Kerry thank you!Pamela

  19. >I feel like I just went to one a moment ago, perfect writings 🙂 the sadness is all within.

  20. >Thanks riika!Pamela

  21. >http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-natures-elements-air.htmlGreetings!It is Monday again, I sincerely invite you to join us for a Monday Poetry Potluck party, bring in 1 to 3 poem treats to share via the link on the top! You could use an old poem.

  22. >The thoughts that arrive while reading it penetrate your heart!Well Done~

I appreciate all comments.

