Rosalita Mi Chiquita One Stop Poetry; Form Monday – Free Verse with Steven Marty Grant

Sipping coffee from a cracked china cup
trimmed with red roses;
the morning’s violent headlines depress her,
but she continues reading …
a familiar connection to the outside world

No plans, only a walk to the market;
fresh fruit and vegetables arrive early;
selection is vast, and the warm air calms her

She likes people who think simple thoughts …
listening closely to their voices
settling in her veins

Sunshine bothers her,
so does rain … no place like the in-between,
where she exists so well

Conversation escapes reasoning …
useless and time-consuming
She doesn’t speak to many people …
except for the milkman; they converse
nearly every day about small things
Soothing echoes in her head

A cup of coffee keeps her awake
as she changes lines in her song …
feeling that now she can sing it,
and no-one will notice her moonlight daydream

Process:
I wrote this to the prompt at One Stop, combining it with
a wordle from Brenda Warren at Undercaws. Thanks, One Stop
and Brenda (for giving me a bit of a push).

18 responses to “Rosalita Mi Chiquita One Stop Poetry; Form Monday – Free Verse with Steven Marty Grant

  1. it seems she has found her comfortable place to land…and this makes me wonder about what brought her here…

  2. Small comforts in life and creatures of habit we are. Nicely written, Pamela.

  3. this is excellent and I can relate to this woman to well…the changing of lines, coffee sipping with minimal conversation…lovely Pam…bkm

  4. This is my favourite of your recent poems: crystalline, direct. I love it.

    • Thanks, Viv. I wrote this first thing in the morning yesterday, and it was just sitting there looking at me. Then I saw Brenda’s wordle, and inserted the words. It ended up coming together.

  5. Well penned, Pamela. Sometimes the milkman, or mailman, or grocery checkout clerk…are easier to talk to than those we know well. I can relate to that from time to time. I’m glad the wordle helped move you. 🙂

  6. This is gorgeous! I really related to her.

  7. I found myself relating more and more to the scene… and just loved these lines:

    She likes people who think simple thoughts …
    listening closely to their voices
    settling in her veins

  8. Pamela, I find myself identifying with ‘liking people who think simple thoughts.’ Sometimes the simplest of thoughts, I find, are most complex. I like your wordle!

  9. Pamela, I’m still battling to visit you.

    This is a lovely poem; I think possibly my favourite ever of yours. Gentle and simple. Lovely.

  10. Thanks for such a nice comment, Tilly. I am sure I’ve fixed the problem. I was in contact with a tech, and told me what to do.

I appreciate all comments.

