I am an enthusiast One Stop Poetry-Friday Poetically with Brian Miller

(Sunday, January 10, 2010)

I am an enthusiast

Feeling the warm silky thigh next to mine
I wonder what am I drawing into me here
 
I am forever an enthusiast
I love to follow with the elite
 
I will never be sundered
I will never question them
 
I have shouldered against the best
Even the simple ones
 
I have felt the brunt of their froth
All my life I have felt their stones hit me
 
It doesn’t phase me at all
Because I live among the elite with fertile womb
 
Forever ready to conceive
And never to answer a question

*This poem was originally written to a prompt over at Read Write Poem.
Beg,Borrow,Steal #109
We were to borrow a phrase or words from their wordle bank, which at
that time I thought was called a wordie. I guess I wasn’t wearing my
glasses on that particular day 😉 The phrase is “I am an enthusiast”

I adjusted the double spacing; it was too annoying.
This is the way I posted it back then.
Here is the original link:

I am an enthusiast

16 responses to “I am an enthusiast One Stop Poetry-Friday Poetically with Brian Miller

  1. veeeeery sexy. I sense a seraglio to a pasha. Probably way out!

    • Thanks Viv, but I wasn’t thinking of an opera when I wrote this. I am quite sure I was annoyed with some of the people I was working with at the time. Who incidentally were nothing like an opera, more like a horror show 🙂

  2. I like it, pamela. Subtle, shifty, very smart piece. I esp loved “..I have felt the brunt of their froth..”

  3. Thanks Joy. Of my first pieces, this is one of my favourites. That is to say, not too many are.

  4. dang – love esp. that last stanza..and smiles on the horror show..work life can have so many faces…comedy…thriller…soap opera…keeps it interesting…smiles

  5. Lots of soap opera here, Claudia. I live in a very passionate country. It’s the horror show, that I’m not too pleased with 🙂 Thanks.

  6. Sounds like it still rings clearly for you, Pamela. Mean spirited selfish people and still come back to haunt with us. I think they exist in every work place. Excellent wordie! 🙂

  7. Brenda, they used to have a word bank at read write poem, and I chose that phrase and went on my way … can you believe I thought they were called wordies?¡¿ As for those mean spirited, selfish ones, they will always be around.

  8. i really like this…a few twisty fun lines…esp that last one but also that frothy line too…very nice…thanks for sharing this one with us today…

  9. Pam,
    That’s it! I always love a fighter. Never to give in to other’s bad attitude.We don’t bother others and they likewise shouldn’t. Great take here Ma’am.

    Hank

  10. The lure of the group is an opiate, but one the true individualist can resist.

  11. Very well done, Pamela. I can see why you would choose this one of your ‘earlier’ poems as a favorite to share.

I appreciate all comments.

