Shecoal has a Story to Tell … Poetry Tow Truck 27: A Family Reunion, Of Sorts

Eyes like fiery jewels,
Seacoal exits the dimly
lit cavern smoking Gitanes …
twirling to her rhythm with

a collie in tow; they’re no slackers,
she and the pooch. It’s a pickup
for the innocent on a Sunday
morning in May. Smog covered

hills nestle the town. The Festival
begins; she feels it heart and soul.
She laughs the hair
from her eyes with coal dust fingertips …

smiling, wondering of night’s end

Process notes:
I chose the word “coal” from Online Etymology Dictionary at http://www.etymonline.com.
words I used; fiery jewel, coal dust, collie, slack
and seacoal

8 responses to “Shecoal has a Story to Tell … Poetry Tow Truck 27: A Family Reunion, Of Sorts

  1. Pamela, there is some wonderful language in this poem!

  2. Thanks so much, Mary. It was an interesting exercise.

  3. I agree with Mary – and I really like “It’s a pickup for the innocent…”

  4. Thanks Donna. I had a good time writing this one 🙂

  5. Strange, but scintillating! I like the freedom of the words.

  6. This is exquisite, and yes strange. But (and here’s one for you) it’s the quirk in your work that makes me love it so. 🙂

  7. Hey that rhymes 🙂 Thanks Brenda, and you have no idea, how quirky I really am.

I appreciate all comments.

