“With My Hands I Will Hold Up Your Walls” Tuesday Tryouts:Margo Roby @ Wordgathering

I
Watching a kaleidoscope,
spinning thoughts move
you forward
II
The sun plays sparkles
in your hair, springing
light in stars
III
Skin, caramel smooth
freshness, glinting
with perspiration dew
IV
Laughter spills innocent
echoes resting softly in air
V
Words escape in
formations of harmony …
precise articulation
VI
Movements of form,
aligned and agile, perfect
solid lines
VII
Soft hands with fingers
wrap round lost margins …
smoothness edge
VIII
It is an eye-defining
hope that never ends
or inundates

Process notes:
I wrote this to Margo’s site for Tuesday Tryouts, but I was also inspired by the “We Write Poems” prompt this week (Margo’s prompt as well), and the recent hurricane heading to where the majority of my family live. I hope they remain safe.
I used all the nouns, verbs and adjectives I wrote down.
Nouns
thoughts
sun
stars
skin
laughter

Verbs
move
springing
resting
escape
wrap

Adjectives
soft
smooth
lost
precise
innocent

10 responses to ““With My Hands I Will Hold Up Your Walls” Tuesday Tryouts:Margo Roby @ Wordgathering

  1. This is truly beautiful, Pamela. I’m not sure about the stanza numbers – they seem a hindrance to a smooth reading – but you’ve woven lovely fabric around your chosen words.

  2. I’m always amazed at how a group of individual words can give rise the such interesting combinations and ideas.

  3. A great achievement, indeed. I do not find it easy to compose from these word lists and wordies, but this is a remarkable result – the more so given the threat to your family. Hope all remains well with them I wish them every blessing.

  4. Pamela this is gorgeous, truly gorgeous. You start with the image of kaleidescope, and each stanza feels like one of its turns. I hope your family bodes well over the tumultuous weekend they’re experiencing.

  5. Echoing previous comments this piece speaks of love, calm and blessings- even as a storm approaches. Calm is found in words like “wrap round lost margins” and set up a feeling of readiness. I am glad to have found you through Margo Roby’s blog-blessings for your family. .

  6. Pamela, it is just beautiful to read what you did with these words.

  7. somehow i imagine kids playing in a park
    and an old soul sitting warm in sunlight

  8. Thanks everyone for the nice comments. Teri welcome and thanks. Viv, I was rather pleased with the way this turned out. Ah! viva la diferencia! But I always appreciate your comments 🙂

  9. This is lovely, from the title to the end. As much as I enjoy what I have come to call your impressionistic poems, the ones where you use a high degree of metaphor and imagery, it is your story poems I like the best, the ones on Mexico I think are the ones, so far. This poem weaves both, tells a story and uses lovely imagery.

    margo

  10. Thanks very much, Margo.

I appreciate all comments.

