“Skins Once Interchangable” The Sunday Whirl

As leaves of rosemary turn from
green to pale brown, you slide
breezes beneath fervent wings

cloaked in residues of
truth, you’re lost in dust as she
sweeps matter from the scene …

We are brothers and friends, grabbing
tightly at handrails, when light
pushes us away

Sage crumbles between matters
of life, with high moss worries
in a vessel of uncertainty, settling

within a dream’s rusted trunk, now lost

22 responses to ““Skins Once Interchangable” The Sunday Whirl

  1. Many images here, Pamela.

    i like this:
    “you’re lost in dust as she
    sweeps matter from the scene”

  2. The image of the handrail keeps bringing up feelings of hurricanes and storms for me so I think I watched too much television news this weekend. Everything passes to dust. Rosemary, sage, and high moss worries are intriguing….

  3. Beautiful images. Good job with that prompt!

  4. “As leaves of rosemary turn from
    green to pale brown, you slide
    breezes beneath fervent wings”

    I like that very much Pamela. 🙂

  5. Beautiful images and an intriguing title.

  6. Wonderful imagery, Pamela.

  7. This has a hint of nostalgia in faded scents. So much can be contained in a rusted trunk, some of it best left locked away.

  8. Awww this is lovely but it has an underlying sadness for something that was lost and cannot be retrieved, (I feel) lovely use of the wordle words.

  9. I marvel at a relationship so close that skins were once interchangeable. I think I’ve only known one in my life. Perhaps that is all we are allowed. Lovely write. Thanks for the memories.

  10. Imaginative use of the words. I see I have a lot to learn. Thanks!

  11. I like the feeling of mystery yet saddness in this. Wordles seem to inspire such interesting images! Thank you too for visiting my blog!

  12. Pam,
    You painted a picture of family and friends who tried to work out things together but were derailed. They failed, ‘now lost’. So often this is true. And sometimes the reasons are trivial.

    Hank
    P/S I’ve just done a first tryout into wordles at ‘Rainbow’ . I think it’s fun!

  13. wonderful autumn images and metaphors 🙂

  14. “As leaves of rosemary turn from green to pale brown, you slide breezes beneath fervent wings” is a gorgeous image. Beautiful words, Pamela!

  15. Thanks to all for the nice comments.

  16. magicalmysticalteacher

    I know all too well how that “dream’s rusted trunk” looks. Vivid image! Thank you!

    Wordle 19 poem

  17. Vivid and poignant, Pamela. I enjoyed the use of the herbs as reference points, although it did start a playback of “Scarborough Fair” in my head… 😉

  18. Poignant is a good word for this poem. I found sadness and yearning in your images, and yet the softness that acceptance may bring. Wonderful flowing language as usual, Pamela,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  19. Pamela, I keep coming back to that first stanza. I’ve never thought of rosemary turning color like that. I’m sure it must, and yet it unsettles me. Each stanza has an image like that, of loss, grabbing tightly, and worries and crumbles.

    Richard

  20. love the blend of herbs and emotions… “.dreams rusted trunk>” sez everything… WOW!!!

  21. Thanks everyone for the nice comments.

  22. Great line:
    “grabbing tightly at handrails, when light pushes us away”

I appreciate all comments.

