“Tuesday in Belgium” The Sunday Whirl #20

Sapphic women in pallid blooms,
fanning air in birdlike pulses,
crawling a river of naked arms,
fixated on their dressage

Hitches hang on studded racks where
hordes of whores rest lazily,
and in the bars they watch bemused,
as Sally gives you her quivering goof

32 responses to ““Tuesday in Belgium” The Sunday Whirl #20

  1. I can see this scene unfolding in my mind’s eye. I love your attention to detail, Pamela. “fanning air in birdlike pulses” is my favorite bit. And poor Sally, I fear I relate a bit to her from time to time, especially when a joke falls flat in my classroom. Now maybe that feeling is what you meant by quivering goof….but its what I’ve felt, and I love the phrasing..

  2. Oh, Pam, I liked some of the phrasings in this poem! “Fanning air in birdlike pulses” is wonderful; and I chuckled (though maybe I shouldn’t have) at “hordes of whores.” I found myself wondering though, why Belgium?

  3. Mary, this reminded me of the song, “Seerรคuber Jenny” (Pirate Jenny), which I was listening to last night. The play is by Kurt Weill and Bertolt Brecht, The Threepenny Opera (German: Die
    Dreigroschenoper). While that was in fact from the Berlin theater, for some reason Belgium came to mind, not sure why ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The line of the week for me has to be “hordes of whores”!

  5. Sally… reminds me of Liza Minnelli as Sally Bowels in Cabaret. She was also classed a somewhat of a whore too, wasn’t she? LOL
    Very clever and vivid use of the wordle words.

  6. Wonderful phrasing and images… “fanning air in birdlike pulses” just have to agree is terrific…

  7. magicalmysticalteacher

    You really know how to strip everything down (so to speak!) to the bare bones!

    My Wordle 20

  8. mmt, well, I do have a tendency to do that at times ๐Ÿ˜‰ thanks.

  9. I have to agree with the others “fanning air in birdlike pulses,” is a fantastic line as is “Hordes of whores.” ๐Ÿ™‚
    Nice one Pamela.

  10. I like the quivering goof – and I don’t know how ekse you could have got it in. Excellently well done!

  11. Dare I admit I had to look up “sapphic?” Great wordling, Pam. I love what you’ve done. Evocative and realistic at the same time.

  12. I really enjoyed this one, Pamela… and I have to say you really have my curiosity up with quivering goof.

  13. Great use of the wordle, Pamela. I’m not sure why Belgium either; Amsterdam came to mind while I read this one – not that I’ve ever been to Europe, but Amsterdam is famous (or infamous, depending on perspective) for certain things…

    • Traci, you’ve just reminded of a song. ” In Port of Amsterdam” by David Bowie,
      “In the port of Amsterdam
      You can see sailors dance
      Paunches bursting their pants
      Grinding women to porch
      They’ve forgotten the tune
      That their whiskey voice croaked
      Splitting the night”
      See what you’ve done. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Oh this just has that special something… I loved it.

  15. Gotta congratulate you on how you used the goof. I really didn’t notice the other wordle words, which seems to mean a good poem, one that draws you in and keeps you there. This certainly did,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  16. Thanks Elizabeth, I am not sure what I mean by the quivering goof, but it works ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I agree with daydreamertoo, I see Sally from Cabaret. She would give you “quivering goof”

I appreciate all comments.

