Cholula The Sunday Whirl #23

Cocktails and cake outside the café,
occasionally capture looks from passers-by,
with smoothed-down hair and lilting smiles

Motion in chats, laughs thrown in air,
caught and clutched forever in songs

Strolling on brick roads, jostling time,
moving accidentally from shop to shop

28 responses to “Cholula The Sunday Whirl #23

  1. You’ve captured the strolling feeling!

    • Irene, apparently Cholula is the oldest Latin American settlement. Cholula (Nahuatl: Cholōllān), was an important city of pre-Columbian Mesoamerica, dating back to at least the 2nd century BCE, with settlement as a village going back at least some thousand years earlier. There is a pyramid with a church built on top of it. Loads of outdoor restaurants and cafés.

  2. A leisurely early evening in an Italian city is what this Wordle says to me.

  3. Beautifully written. Sounds so very relaxing to me

  4. Pam,
    Wonderful response to the wordle. Cholula, a leisurely stroll apparently, is it?

    Hank

  5. Hank, it is a very nice city. Lots of history.

  6. This is wonderful, Pamela. You’ve done so much with so few words. I loved the middle stanza especially, which to me has a sort of magical quality:
    “Motion in chats, laughs thrown in air, / caught and clutched forever in songs”

  7. I agree, so much said and all in pictures with such few words. Lovely use of the prompt!
    It sounds like the perfect place to sit and watch the world go by. 🙂

  8. Love the pic of the little monkey with the dog. It must love the thickness of the dogs fur and thinks of the dog as it’s adopted mom? Awww

    • ddt, yes, that is a perfect way to describe it. Nothing moves very fast and you get the sense of relaxation in the air. Thanks.
      As for the pic this was taken by the dog’s owner. The dog rescued her after typhoon number 12 in Japan last week. My husband found it on twitter, and I had to post it. Cute,I know 🙂

  9. What a wonderfully liesure image you have created. And it does sound European to me as well. Beautiful blow and vivid images as usual Pamela. Thanks,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  10. Sorry, that’s suppose to be flow, lol.

  11. Pamela, I want to visit Cholula, now, or maybe it’s just a life of leisure I crave. Well wordled piece here.

    • I hear what you saying, Brenda. When I weekends come I just want to relax. However, lately there have been invites to weddings, birthdays, while they are fun and socializing is great, I love my quiet time. Thanks.

  12. I love to watch people and imagine what it is they are really doing and why they are really there. Your words take me there to take a stroll with them.

  13. It sounds lovely, Pamela. “Strolling on brick roads, jostling time,” is a wonderful image.

  14. You have vividly captured the feel of a place with this great use of the wordle words Pamela. 🙂

  15. You and Nanka both took me back to El Hatillo with this one. El Hatillo is a colonial town near Caracas, Venezuela, and the town grew around a central square where the local church was built. The streets are small and not really made for cars, but automobiles and people share them anyway. The shops are close together and look like they’ve been there forever, and the people are (or were when I was there over a decade ago) very friendly and approachable. One of my favorite after-work pastimes was to go to the center of town and visit the shops. 🙂

  16. simply beautiful. For a bustling street, you made made it quite peaceful

  17. Cathy, it is quite peaceful, even with people roaming round shopping and eating. Thanks.

I appreciate all comments.

