“El Conservatorio” We Write Poems-Prompt #77: Instant Poetry

Her voice captivates me — it’s
light, bringing love from blue skies
in bel canto like a carillon,

searching for a face to match
the music, floating through my world

Behind stone façades her piano resonates,
each strong chord a heavenly aria;
segued, I move along the ficus-lined street

Conservatorio de Música del Estado de Puebla. Where this magical event took place.

11 responses to ““El Conservatorio” We Write Poems-Prompt #77: Instant Poetry

  1. Love it! Some of my favorite moments in life are when I discover someone I find utterly captivating, as your musician. Unforgettable, n’est pas?

  2. It truly is beautiful when music floats through one’s world. Nice poem, Pamela.

  3. Pam,
    If music be the food of love, play on, so said the Bard!
    Music soothes the savage breast said he again. You did well to captivate with your poetry! Excellent!

    Hank

  4. The phrase ficus-lined street caught my imagination. I could almost smell the aroma of their leaves warmed by sunshine. Lovely. And thank you so much for leaving you kind comment on my poem. 🙂

  5. Lovely write. Such music instantly transports to a magical world…

  6. I like the last stanza especially.

  7. Enjoyed the touch of Mexico!

  8. I love how this ends. Well done!

  9. I love music and the beauty of a voice that is magic. The image of this building is remarkable.

  10. Thanks to all for stopping by and leaving the nice comments. This girl’s voice was so beautiful. It was a wonderful surprise on a Monday morning on travels through the city.

I appreciate all comments.

