“I Watch You on Saturdays” Hop, Hop, Hop: Margo Roby’s Tuesday Tryouts

"New York Movie" by Hopper

I am shadows, behind, hidden,
watching your embrace, studying,
kisses exchanged

I am melancholy, a whimper,
perplexing over your betrayal

You are exposure to the world’s
silver screen, attracting attention

I notice people laugh, sigh, cry,
over every enacted move
Somehow I am satisfied

10 responses to ““I Watch You on Saturdays” Hop, Hop, Hop: Margo Roby’s Tuesday Tryouts

  1. Pamela, I like your take on this painting too. The ending especially. Even though our lives are not the ‘stuff’ of movies, we can be satisfied indeed.

  2. Great verse Pam! There’s a certain mystery around the painting. You brought it out so well!

    Hank

  3. Well done. Yours is imaginative and sensitive. I had thought the usherette was grieving – either that or bored to death after 8 showings of the film.

  4. I wondered whether this painting would work for a diversity of interpretations, and your poem shows, that indeed it does.

    margo

  5. Margo, it is all about diversity, in my very humble opinion. 🙂

  6. I didn’t even notice the image before reading your work. The poem is wonderful and strong even without the image. Or maybe especially without. 🙂

  7. What a pleasant surprise, Charlotte. Thanks.

I appreciate all comments.

