“A Natural History of My Spare Bedroom” We Write Poems #86

We rest on intuition and hearts,
looking at smudges on a tiled floor;
each shape is different between us …
unpleasant, never entirely repelling

You’ve noticed a few cobwebs
have moved in; on Sunday
they spoke to you of days
in Columbian bordellos:

embracing honeyed thighs in scant
garments, warm aguardiente poured
from crystal decanters; its liquid as fiery
and effortless as evenings from the past

Relying on an alchemy of images to
remove us from certain intricacies,
nestling in the ceiling’s rafters,
weaving tales round our thoughts;
legs and hands are bound …
while our voices slow to a hush

7 responses to ““A Natural History of My Spare Bedroom” We Write Poems #86

  1. Very atmospheric, Pamela.

  2. ‘alchemy of images’, very nice.

  3. A rich subtle brew of storytelling, Pamela.

  4. nice one Pam….thanks for sharing and happy NY

  5. I was mesmerized by your poem, Pamela. I love it.

  6. Thanks all! This is a poem I may revisit soon. There are some things I like about, and then there are some things I don’t.

  7. embracing honeyed thighs in scant
    garments, warm aguardiente poured -> now that is sensual

    A Natural History of My Princess Bedroom

I appreciate all comments.

