“A Crow and A Berry at Sunset” The Sunday Whirl #39: A Baker’s Dozen

You’re tethered close by surface still,
as waters rise in tranquil reel;
unharnessed contemplation reveals its raucous edge —
a chaotic ruin, when a dotted crow flies
the landscape, survival and migration
grip my dormant stage; I am composed …
biting an out-of-season berry, crisp
and pungent, juice kneeling in my mouth
while broad sky descends spectacle
And as I try to rest of late,
to ease the rising pain, demonic resolutions,
so circumspect and vain, conspire
beneath my pillow, to make me weep again

23 responses to ““A Crow and A Berry at Sunset” The Sunday Whirl #39: A Baker’s Dozen

  1. Sounds like a description of a nightmarish sleepless night, Pamela. Vividly wordled.

  2. Pamela,
    A lot of tensions impinged on the minds which can be expected nowadays. It brings sadness mostly. Nicely written!

    Hank

  3. Oh yuck on biting on an out of season berry. Reminds me of that face-pulling we do when we bite on something tangy or bitter… LOL
    Awww sad ending, to end with weeping.
    A lovely read though.

  4. This is wonderful! I especially love the despairing sadness of the last lines …

  5. Loved this poem, Pamela! “Juice kneeling in my mouth” is a great line!

  6. Marianne, that is my favourite part of the poem. Seemingly difficult words to deal with.

  7. I found my thoughts being dragged down as well while using these words— I find it interesting that we both awake at the end of our pieces…

  8. Waking up weeping is so sad.

  9. I loved…

    “I am composed …
    biting an out-of-season berry, crisp
    and pungent, juice kneeling in my mouth”

    – Wonderful writing Pamela.

  10. That is the only part of the poem I actually like, Susannah.

  11. The part Susannah refers to is my favorite, as well. It’s gorgeous, Pamela. While there is sadness to the piece, the imagery is strong. I’m a sucker for flying crows in poems. 🙂

  12. This line is worth all the trouble you had: ‘juice kneeling in my mouth’

    mago

  13. Thanks Margo, it is my favourite part of the poem.

  14. Excellent poem, great tension in it

  15. I’m with everyone else about “juice kneeling in my mouth” – wonderful image, that.

    The poem made me think of a lost relationship, how the narrator stays composed throughout the day despite the tethered memories of the lost love, but is left sad and sleepless at night because of what is suppressed during the daylight hours.

  16. Beautifully written. How things connect in the most unusual ways.

I appreciate all comments.

