“Lily Bell”

Norwegian Lily is full of freedom and
she likes to tell you why:

“I roam the halls of ballroom dance from Europe
to southern shores, but Barcelona is the best.
I carry a photo of my mother, but it is her perfume’s
sweetness that I remember.”

Lily needs no partner, she twirls as though suspended on strings. When you see her spectacle, she is happy to explain:

“I am the flower swaying in your shade, like music running its rhythm into my soul. I am the liberation looked for every day, while peeling back the sun.”

Lily is never confined by walls; they expand and breath when she enters rooms. Once the music begins, each chord flows in her syncopation; beauty and grace.

Every Saturday night she visits a favourite hall, in search of a perfect partner; she will try to lilt you into dance; beginning with her expertise and showmanship, gliding on black and white checkered
floors, scarlet runs through the cracks, as a window shines with her reflection, she turns to you and says:

“I was born to dance, my feet are light like Persimmon petals and their newly formed fruit, I can soar beyond this room; take my hand, I will show you how.”

Just one dance with Lily and you will be transformed.

For the IndieInk Writing Challenge this week, Marian “We dance to free ourselves from the room (Wild Flag, “Romance”)” and I challenged Lance with “A man growing old becomes a child again: Sophocles”.

6 responses to ““Lily Bell”

  1. Lily is never confined by walls; they expand and breath when she enters rooms. Once the music begins, each chord flows in her syncopation; beauty and grace.

    that is such a cool description…very nice write..

  2. A complex fantasy with some lovely phrases.

  3. Viv, I wish I had felt better this week to really give this prompt the justice it deserved. I wrote it very quickly yesterday, because the deadline to submit is 8pm. *sigh*

  4. this is lovely! you should embrace what you have and take some time with it when you are able; nothing wrong with starting out with something and working on it more, right? i’m intrigued.

  5. Marian, this is definitely a story I would like to work further on. It is an excellent challenge. No, I didn’t listen to the song, but I will now 🙂

I appreciate all comments.

