“No Traffic Lights” A Sense of Place: Tuesday Tryouts with Margo Roby

*revision of the original via Margo’s help*

I look outside my window,
placing my feet evenly on the
dashboard, as we pass by
Junipers and poles connecting

long distance wires, you talk
about the lack of city life
and ask me what I think of
the moon on this particular night

I feel an odd sensation,
as if the cities have fallen behind,
taking a long awaited rest, permitting
an incandescent light to guide us on;

while I listen for coyotes, or
a revealing nighttime hunter’s cry,
acknowledging this land of suspended
seasons, I take a sip of water

*original*

Looking outside my window;
placing my feet evenly on the
dashboard, passing by vestige
fauna in panoramic scatter

set out before me, you spoke
about the lack of city life
and asked me what I thought of
the moon this particular night

Of course, I felt an odd sensation,
as if the cities had fallen behind,
taking a long-awaited rest, permitting
an incandescent light to guide us on;

while I listened for coyotes, or
a revealing nighttime hunter’s cry,
I acknowledged this land of suspended
seasons, and took a sip of water

12 responses to ““No Traffic Lights” A Sense of Place: Tuesday Tryouts with Margo Roby

  1. Your ‘place’ is so different from anything I have ever known. Your description is vivid and takes us there. I’m not sure about incandescence: whether iyou mean the noun, or the adjective, incandescent???

  2. Life goes on, no turning back. The city is alive and we make them so! Great Verse, Pam

    Hank

  3. If you ask me what landscape moves me the most, has the highest emotional resonance for me, it’s the desert that the U.S. and Mexico share. Has been that way since I first saw it at the age of twelve. That’s why I went to college in Texas — wanted to find a rancher.

    margo

  4. Ha ha ha! And, did meet a rancher? I find the desert compelling, as I have lived mostly in the northeastern part of the US.

    Pamela

    • Nope. I found a career Army man. Talk about the opposite. But it must have taken. Forty years this year.

      Compelling is a good word. It was love at first sight with the desert and me. And, yes, I did grow up in a rather large city, so the emptiness is a part of it.

      margo

  5. 40 years! Congrats! I would have been married almost that long, if I had stayed with the first one 😉

  6. The revised *is* better, Pamela. Interesting that Margo is making us all better. The setting is psychological & fuses with the narrator’s mood.

  7. i def like the active verse much better…i try to write in the present tense as often as i can…

  8. Funny you should mention that, Brian. Margo said almost the very same thing to me. (almost) 🙂 Thank you.

I appreciate all comments.

