“Beyond Words and Into Science” The Sunday Whirl #41

She studies organic polymers,
telling me of a field not far
from here, where the earth

thrives in serenity, fruits and
vegetables nurture without anguish,
fresh and passionate

She has a flame that lives
beyond ideas; as conversation
is born, right lines draw

a perpendicular shock of words,
frozen for a moment,
braced against lexicon

She startles me with concentric
thoughts as we place our
feet in permeable space

Process notes: This is a true story of one of my students, Delia, who has been a chemistry professor for 30 years in BUAP university here in Puebla. She never ceases to amaze me with her knowledge.

28 responses to ““Beyond Words and Into Science” The Sunday Whirl #41

  1. Beautiful verse Pam! It’s just amazing how you adapt easily the given words to a real-life situation. It takes great talents to do so!

    Hank

  2. You’ve place the words so effortlessly in this piece… I love the integration of scientific words, too, Pamela.

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2012/01/chilling-out.html

  3. So nicely done, and to know this describes a real person and real place makes the ending all the more poetic. The last stanza is excellent!

  4. Nicely wordled, Pamela. I admire those who go into the science field. As for me, I prefer my science simple. LOL.

    • Mary, I studied medicine for almost two years, and decided to return to my art career. Science is complex and interesting to me, but it is very difficult, so many possibilities and variables. Delia is a plethora of information for me. Thanks.

  5. It’s always such a wonder to learn things we never knew and, when someone we know opens our eyes to new ways of thinking, it’s fabulous;
    What a lovely read, Pamela. I hope you tell Delia she inspired you to write this. 🙂

  6. ‘She has a flame that lives
    beyond ideas’

    You give Delia a lovely portrait. I like the nature/chemistry/creative thread. Interesting juxtapositions.

    margo

    • I just arrived home from the organic market in Cholula. Delia told me about it the other day, and invited me to go. Honestly, I have never in my life seen such a beautiful display of dried beans. I wish I had taken my camera, but there is always next time 🙂

  7. I loved the lines:

    as we place our
    feet in permeable space

    We really can go anywhere we set our minds to…

    ~Paula

  8. Brilliant writing as always, Pamela! I love stopping here every week to see what you have written. You never disappoint!

  9. It is so nice that these words inspired such a great piece about a friend. I love that you were able to tell us what she studies and that she uses a “perpendicular shock of words” that leave your “feet in permeable space”. Aamazing!

  10. How wonderful that you were able to marry the wordle words with such an inspiring person to produce this poem.

  11. Luck, Viv, I was flummoxed by the words Friday. Thanks.

  12. “She startles me with concentric thoughts…” This is a wonderful tribute to your student and friend. You’ve painted a beautiful portrait with the words. Perhaps you will share it with her.

  13. Brenda, I am going to print it out and give it to her tomorrow in her class. She did inspire me. Thanks so much, birthday girl!!!

  14. This struck me as totally fluid, Pamela, as if you’ve entered into permeable space. Exactly.

  15. Thanks Irene, it wouldn’t have happened without the conversation with Delia.

  16. i would def not mind visiting that space…well refined verse…and a great capture of the moment and its essence…

  17. ok, now THAT takes pure TALENt to be able to make poetry and science beautiful! I am in awe of your gift! Nicely done!

    my latest
    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/death-to-a-salesman/

  18. Did a great job with the words and telling about your friend

  19. Pamela, wonderful. I like the structure of this one, how it unfolds. I didn’t even notice the wordle words. And I love “a perpendicular shock of words”!

    Richard

I appreciate all comments.

