“A Girl Balances Herself” We Write Poems: Prompt #91-Kissing the ceiling/ Trifecta-Week Twelve

Seeing staggers of light sneak in, cloaked
fingers enter the room; today will destroy the past

Carrying stretched minutes in a tumbling underground
without mirrors, she is the image of her mother, a

generation of sisters, she doesn’t notice
or even bother to look, a proximity between reality —

each breath and thought parlays balance, because
tomorrow there’s no difference between starlings

or raptors from this view: a river conciliating
its turbulence, constrained and ill-fitting as

the drop-down ceiling, she’ll miss the morning subway
and every stop along the way, trying to peruse the sky

28 responses to ““A Girl Balances Herself” We Write Poems: Prompt #91-Kissing the ceiling/ Trifecta-Week Twelve

  1. I don’t think I would ever want to put kissing the ceiling on my list of ‘things to do’ but, well done to her for doing it.
    Lovely, intricate, thinking from you.

  2. My first impulse was to write a ‘happy’ light poem, and I did, and now I see the pic differently, I do feel claustrophobic and long to break free, and find a bit of the sky! Like your poem, Pamela.

  3. Very insightful piece, Pamela… I especially like the beginning.

  4. The set up at the beginning is just flawless. Without that light, almost fun feeling, the ending doesn’t work as awesome as it does.

    excellent

  5. I truthfully wish that we all long to rise past ceiling and see sky, which is the feeling I get from your poem. Ceilings are constraining.

    -Nicole

  6. Ay caramba, Ms. Pamela. The temperament of life endows us all with “a river conciliating”. This is a delicate journey, a search with a sky tableau of what should be. I, enjoyed your poetry.
    Regards,
    Donald

  7. Your words paint a picture in words of a story that can be felt and seen.

  8. Such interesting lines. Loved it!

    opposites

  9. I particularly like the image in the first verse: Seeing staggers of light sneak in, cloaked fingers enter the room; today will destroy the past
    This is beautifully written.

  10. My favorite line was “tomorrow there’s no difference between starlings” and the beautiful image of this girl who is always daydreaming (did I get that right? It’s what I read from missing every stop to look at the sky).

  11. Thanks for linking up to this week’s Trifecta Challenge. There’s so much I enjoyed about this, it’s hard to know where to start. You had me, honestly, with the baffling avatar on our site. 🙂 I love “carrying stretched minutes” and “there’s no difference between starlings or raptors” especially. Very nicely done. I hope you’ll come back for our weekend challenge on Friday.

  12. today will destroy the past – lovely

I appreciate all comments.

