“Peep Shows” Into Place:Tuesday Tryouts with Margo Roby

Neon lights curve
a woman’s hips —

scorching; she stands in a
doorway, a nighttime goddess,

glass of iced bourbon in her
hand; she twirls it casually

while eyeing passersby
Her body mirrored,

she glitters as I try to read
her gestures, written in

code from a different realm,
where this part of the city’s

abandon fights its way into
skin on hot summer nights

Present day

Back in my day…

14 responses to ““Peep Shows” Into Place:Tuesday Tryouts with Margo Roby

  1. A pleasure as always to visit your site. Sorry I’ve been lax but have been nursing my hand and arm from overuse…and age. Nicely written.

  2. I love this so much. This is now my favourite of your poems. Pamela, the lines, ‘Neon lights curve
    a woman’s hips —
    scorching;’
    and, ‘this part of the city’s
    abandon fights its way into
    skin’
    are stunning. You paint a scene that is clear and vivid, with no unnecessary words. This tab stays open for the day, so I can keep rereading it.

    margo

    • Thanks Margo, this one came to me fairly quick with very little editing to be done. I was about 7 when my parents took me into Times Square for dinner with out-of-town relatives. We walked through this particular part of TS, and I still remember my mom saying “Don’t look anyone in the eye, look straight ahead”. But you know curiosity and all that goes with it…

  3. I’ll echo all of Margo’s comments. Also really liked ‘she glitters as I try to read…’

  4. I remember a different Times Square than what is there now. My Times Square was of the late 1960’s early 1970’s. Your photo looks older than that time frame. My main areas were The Village, my middle school on I think 8th Ave between 17th and 18th streets. It is amazing to me after seeing The Square a few years ago that it really is a small section of real estate. I just cannot imagine being there for New Years Eve! Thanks for the trip down memory lane. I enjoyed your verse.

  5. Jules, It was pretty much how I remember it. You and I are about the same age I gather. I am 54. My father worked at Women’s Day magazine on 42nd. I think the most outstanding feature was the street life of that area, day or night and the smell.
    I grew up in Gramercy Park and on Long Island, the south shore.
    Thanks for reading and commenting.

  6. I remember Times Sq of a recent age,Pam! It was mid-eighties. We could get the cheaper same-day tickets at a booth at the WTC (both still standing then) I noticed then the sophisticated theaters (I saw Anthony Quinn in person) were just a few doors away from the seedy ones where the saucy fare were shown. I went into one and the air in there reeked of weed. I didn’t know before then that weed smell could be so nauseating.The scene may not have changed much now I would think!

    Hank

  7. a nighttime goddess,

    glass of iced bourbon in her
    hand; she twirls it casually

    while eyeing passersby

    This is vivid memory, Pamela. You brought back the scene and feeling.

  8. Thanks Irene. It is my memory and sticking to it 🙂

  9. Oh it’s gorgeous!

    You write well madam! Always investigating, probing, experimenting – you write so free, I’m envious!

    Could see this one. I was caught peering around city lamps at ladies of the night.

    Or wondering how pretty my mother must have looked, young and free and available.

    I don’t often do this, but it reminds me of one of mine; http://kolembo.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/the-man-at-the-bar/

    I’m loving your blog. Fresh, alive.

  10. Thanks Kolembo. Very nice of you to say.

I appreciate all comments.

