A Bird Flew in the Window Joseph Harker’s Reverie Four:Lovely as a Tree

Intrepid scorpions crawl up my skirt,
and the buttons on my blouse
feel ambiguous.
Beyond is a fluted window
from which I can see
a drunken sunrise —
a view that greets dim shadows,
sliding along a moving car,
or rests on a sleeping dog absorbing dreams.

It’s death to an old man across the city,
whom I’ve never met.

As barbed lemons hide words
on lost or forgotten juices

there is a bird who visits every day,
pocketing seeds on a burnt roof,
as cordial pigeons nod … on
purple marionette strings.

Perhaps we’ll walk splintered sidewalks,
while listening to life’s infidelities

2 responses to “A Bird Flew in the Window Joseph Harker’s Reverie Four:Lovely as a Tree

  1. oooh, intrepid scorpions…drunken sunrises…
    I also really like ‘as barbed lemons hid words
    on lost or forgotten juices…
    Life is a tricky widget. I can see those splintered sidewalks too-
    In the neighborhood where I had my first home…the old trees just push their roots through.

I appreciate all comments.

