“In Calm Embrace” Lying in a Hammock for Tuesday’s Tryout with Margo Roby

As I walk the neighbourhood,
leaves dance like sea hydra,
floating past emoted homes; sometimes
this land takes me unaware

As February winds shift my hair in disarray,
resting streaks across my eyes,
bougainvilleas hug walls,
imprinting soft fuschia
on slate-grey days

At the corner, a comal stands on bony,
iron legs; an elderly woman fans
embers, her partner kneads la masa
with gentle knowledge — quesadillas
dripping cheese, mushrooms, onions,
hints of epazote nestled in half moon cradles

I dream my home,
I taste the air

13 responses to ““In Calm Embrace” Lying in a Hammock for Tuesday’s Tryout with Margo Roby

  1. Some of the names here are unfamiliar to this European, but I hug your lines: “bougainvilleas hug walls,
    imprinting soft fuschia
    on slate-grey days”

    O for some colour here just now!

  2. I love the same line as ViV. That is one of my all-time favourite sights, bougainvillea. You got my taste buds salivating [oy, there they go again] with the street scene. ‘Sea hydra’ is great, too, for its movement. Evocative.

  3. The last line is so lovely. It emphasizes the contrast between the old woman cooking outdoors. Also, I had to look up comal. BONUS! New word in my vocabulary now.

  4. Thanks Jester. I appreciate you reading and commenting.

  5. A sensory piece, Pamela. I like

    leaves dance like sea hydra

    and how it ends with the scene of the food vendor.

    It gives a flavor of the place.

    There’re lots of bougainvillea where I am, but no poinsettas.

  6. As beautiful as another country can be home can always be missed. I can see and taste your surroundings.

  7. Thanks Renee. I am on my way over to see what you have written as of late.

  8. Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, regards . “The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.” by Mother Theresa.

  9. May I simply just say what a relief to uncover a person that really understands what they are talking about on the web. You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people should look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you’re not more popular since you most certainly have the gift.

  10. I need to to thank you for this good read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

I appreciate all comments.

