“A Tree or An Aloe Vera” We Write Poems #94-Ode to a Tree

Green moss sleeps over
brick as avocados weep
pear-shaped beads
hammered on high branches

I rest on my knees, earth seeping
through fingertips, untangling weeds
as sow bugs scatter, armored,
resilient, archaic, scurrying on

a marrow of stories
encircling the owner of
a local taco stand; an untimely
death, a shattered leaf on mirrors

Seven years, separate dirt
falling away in breezes, rich
dark black; not burnt sienna,
warm in the earth, pliable,
easy to manipulate

This area is thick, glazed —
black gothic shades
on octagon windows
piercing exteriors of thunder
storms; saffron flowers burrow
a mosaic vase of spidery veins
in morceau of oxygen’s release

15 responses to ““A Tree or An Aloe Vera” We Write Poems #94-Ode to a Tree

  1. I love the description of avacadoes as pear shaped tears. “as avocados weep” is my favorite line. I have heard pill bugs, but not sow bugs in ages. (We used to call them roly-poly bugs at my house). The image of an urban garden is simply lovely.

  2. I rest on my knees, earth seeping
    through fingertips, untangling weeds

    Love the detail of this…can feel it! Such a lovely place, wonderful details, Pamela! ~Smiles

  3. I think my favorite thing about this poem is the imagery….the hammered, pear shaped tears, the armored sow bugs…and also, the juxtaposition between life and death (the death of the taco stand owner versus the life in the soil in the speaker’s hands).

    A thought just occurred to me: as an American in Mexico, you have very unique point of view, which seeps into your poems through the subjects and imagery. Have you considered, or have you already published, a collection of these poems?

    -Nicole

  4. I love how this poem ends, what a perfect last line. The textures, colors, and richness of this poem are impressive.

  5. scurrying on the marrow of stories encircling the owner of the taco standd…that is awesome…love he descriptions and use of language in this…

  6. great imagery indeed Pam….and loved the poem

  7. Wayne!!! Hi, and thank you. Cheers!

I appreciate all comments.

