“Tachar as the Pencil Grows Shorter” The Sunday Whirl #45

Using my senses from every angle
down the center of  a blank page,
folded in half, hiding cumbersome answers
 
I’ve lost absoluteness in this room
while others seem entranced,
their hearts tied to the language;
make an x,
use audio skills,
My pencil reluctantly moves
flat on lead’s labyrinth
 
a foreign map laid out before me
where Orion enters on
a pelt of meteor showers and
dense daybreak’s murmur
 
Cemented on stacks
of smoky uncertainties,
hoping not to stray

Process notes: I took an exam this week in Spanish and it was daunting to say the least. In fact, I had a headache for several hours afterwards. I have never felt so out of touch with a language in my life. It’s called a “Soy Examen”, a psychological profile. I did pass, but I don’t understand how???? (“tachar” means to x out).

26 responses to ““Tachar as the Pencil Grows Shorter” The Sunday Whirl #45

  1. Pamela, I really like this. I feel the lostness and bewilderment of the speaker [your lostness, in this case :-)]. You have used many of the words differently, which makes this especially fun to read.
    I’ve lost absoluteness in this room
    their hearts tied to the language
    My pencil reluctantly moves
    flat on lead’s labyrinth
    a foreign map laid out before me
    Strong, specific imagery. Well done.

  2. Margo, I appreciate your thoughtful comment. I see an error, I have used the word “lost” twice, that wasn’t in my final edit, yikes!!!! I must be tired 🙂
    (Oh, dear lord, now the last stanza doesn’t seem to work at all)

  3. oy i vagues remember spanish class…my teacher had boca grande y min nombre es raul…ok enough getting a headache already…ha

  4. Yes, Brian. I completely understand. While I get by with my Spanish socially, and even technically, it is another story to think in an abstract form with it, as I found out. Thanks for reading.

  5. Spanish is a difficult language to learn. Well done for passing! Great wordle Pamela.

    • Bren, I know! I didn’t do that well on gobbled up word jumbles, but I did well in logic and reasoning. That is because the language wasn’t involved. There were parts where I had to find stories within paragraphs and they were written backward, jeez!

  6. The first stanza speaks volumes to fear of failure. This is another strong write, Pamela. Tests can be daunting. A test setting itself is not a usual occasion. You define your experience within that setting well for the reader,. Congratulations on the pass!

  7. Brenda, it was daunting, and I felt like a fish out of water, to say the least. Thanks for the nice comment 🙂

  8. Pamela, I think you’ve captured very well the feeling many of us have in that situation. I liked “cumbersome answers” so much. We usually think of questions as cumbersome, but the answers are too. And your choice of language, “angle” suggesting math, as does “x”, which we use as a variable, an unknown – most appropriate here – and then “map” and “Orion” suggesting history and science. Maybe the teacher in me is reading all of this into your poem, but I love the richness of your word choices.

    Richard

  9. That exam sounds like an instrument of torture! Bravo for the pass under extreme difficulty. Also for the wordle poem, you’ve portrayed your own frustration well.

  10. “Instrument of torture” I like that, Viv, and I felt exactly that way. Thanks!

  11. I commend you in taking a course in any language as it isn’t for everyone. I love languages but classes really do not put you in touch with the people who speak the language. I do get some practice as my sister has to know both as she is a teacher in CA. My father speaks Spanish but not for his children. He looks at life in a most different way and it now 88 going on 89 so there will be no changing that. Love the words you’ve written here. Good luck with your continuing efforts in Spanish.

    • Actually Rene, I teach only in English. The school is not a bilingual school, but the children receive an hour a day of English classes.
      I was tested along with 8 other people who are native speakers. I am not sure why I wasn’t given the exam in English.

  12. My dear you are amazing! Your worlde words found their place as you described the test.

  13. Teri, you are very kind 🙂

  14. I can feel your feelings expressed here… Not easy to take an exam in another language. your poem conveys the difficulty well.

  15. Kudos for the continuing education your own and your students. Perhaps if you had requested the test, if it was available in English? But that you took it and passed, bravo indeed. Hoping your head returns to a less ache-full state. I enjoyed it too.

  16. Nice – good use of challenging words – letting your confusion show through; good for you attempting something new … I too hope your headache goes now!

    http://aleapingelephant.blogspot.com/2012/02/last-wolf.html

  17. Love it, Pamela – a fine poem to come out of your “Soy examen”, and the Wordle, of course… well done!

  18. Thanks for visit at the continuing adventures of the ‘as of yet named pint sized ‘Lois’… any time is a good time to visit, and only when one is able. Our ‘real’ worlds have this funny habit of getting in the way of our fantasies.

I appreciate all comments.

