“We Have Asked for Plenty” The Sunday Whirl #47

Her libations alternate between
olive oil and wine; stains on
her skin settle monochrome
patterns

She recalls sacrificed days; their
toll leaves souls dented,
whether by accident or forced
intention

From her view of Mars, confusion
charges revelation; she often prays
for softening sweet

in knowing love cradles beauty,
she spins a splintered atlas

Process notes: I couldn’t fit all the words in. I left out, trouble and handle, and stuck, plenty and ask in the title 😉

15 responses to ““We Have Asked for Plenty” The Sunday Whirl #47

  1. I like the implication in the title that whatever is coming in the poem someone isn’t getting what they want. I am enjoying the different ways people are using Mars.

  2. i like that splintered atlas, def symbolic for me…and its play of Mars, which is a symbol for man as well or war…the second stanza though takes the cake for me…

  3. hummmm…. I like it very much!

  4. So, she is drinking salad dressing? 🙂 I like the ‘sacrificed days’ of the 2nd stanza.

  5. The “splintered atlas” … I will be turning that one around in my head for a while. I know all about forced intentions, Great write. You had plenty of words, without handling trouble. 🙂

  6. I love the idea of praying for softening sweet and the image of a splintered atlas! You mentioned leaving out some words. I understand that. I couldn’t find a place for mars.

  7. olive oil and wine as libations……I picture her in a kitchen…many days are sacrificed there, I’d say.

  8. Good olive oil can be as expensive as a good bottle of wine! If you like too cook you should always use the best available oil or wine. Chefs all over say if you won’t drink it (wine) don’t cook with it. 🙂 Cheers!

  9. Thanks for the comments everyone.

  10. I love how you ended up with “splintered atlas”.

  11. Pamela, I love the last line best of all, it’s gorgeous.

  12. Pamelita, the “splintered atlas,” well done. Echoing also Brian’s observation about Mars being men as well as symbolic of war. The libations of olive oil and wine, the stains on her skin… this is the best take I’ve seen so far, and to hell with words you missed, “ja ja ja!”
    Amelita (and I’m back to subscribing!)
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/03/12/hell-bent-trail-trifecta-whirl/

  13. Thanks Irene, Brenda and Amy. I am so short on time, that I can’t even sit down and respond properly to each and every one of you.

  14. Pamela, I love that second stanza – and that last one. Both “sacrificed days” and “she spins a splintered atlas” – which resonates so strongly with Mars – and love? Venus?

    Richard

  15. I commend you for trying. I don’t because I view it as a daunting task. Nicely written with beautiful words.

I appreciate all comments.

