“Textures” We Write Poems #97: A study in Transitions

There are times when silver beads
cannot withstand our brittle hands

Hoping for blue turquoise swirls to
shift, changing patterns in our lives,
as epiphanies mesh on unknowing
eyes, we’re transformed

Wrapped in muslin cloth, I’ve
tethered myself on yesterday’s charm,
so I may achieve smooth beyond

10 responses to ““Textures” We Write Poems #97: A study in Transitions

  1. Such difficult transitions.

  2. I love exploring textures, these three images do feel like different kinds of texture. Love the ‘smooth beyond.’

  3. “I’ve tethered myself on yesterday’s charm” That is a keeper, P.
    I may steal it.

  4. “Hoping for blue turquoise swirls to
    shift, changing patterns in our lives”

    How true Pam! Often times events beyond us dictate our actions!

    Hank

  5. i have teathered myself to yesterdays charm is a nice line…and i like the hands being brittle yet the beads not being able to withstand…

  6. Beautiful last lines!

  7. Pamelita, this is a lovely meditation. The combination of textures of minerals and those in our lives is beautiful. Changing patterns in our lives and how we handle them… defines us. Peace, Amy

  8. Brittle to smooth, lovely transitions inside this poem Pamela. Your words as here, as so common in your poems, are ripe with a feeling for color (but it’s more than just color only), and makes me wonder too more about Mexico and how it flavors your writing. Yes, and as said, “tethered” is a great word and idea for this poem. Thanks.

    neil

  9. Thanks to all for the nice comments. Barb you may steal it, if you like 🙂
    Neil, I think most of what I write is heavily influenced by living in Mexico. Thank you!

  10. Yea, your writing is rich in colors & flavors. Suppose that’s a Mexican thing.. I like the detail of the muslin cloth.

I appreciate all comments.

