“Josephine the singer or the Mouse Folk Meet Marie” Napowrimo Day # 5

In judgment
of her metamorphosis
and love for a country doctor …
their common confusion’s reminiscent
He’s never liked her black fishnet stockings;
however, he loves caressing the small of her back,
merging them like new advocates on an old manuscript

She writes of fratricide, it has always intrigued her,
or the guilt of Hunter Gracchus, a Swedish hunger artist
lost on an arctic expedition;
she reports this to the high academy

But it is her investigation of a burrowing dog,
saving miners in the southwest, that satisfies the public
When the doctor reads this, he hugs her,
saying “Marie, you’re divine.”

process notes: I am using PA’s prompt of people or things, that were before our time. My aunt Marie died when I was five, so I really knew nothing of her, except that she was a novelist. Then, as I was thinking of how to approach this, I saw a post by Donna Vorreyer talking about using a table of contents for a prompt. I went to one of my favourite books for inspiration “Selected Stories by Franz Kafka”. This is the end result. Part of the title is courtesy of one of the short stories.

6 responses to ““Josephine the singer or the Mouse Folk Meet Marie” Napowrimo Day # 5

  1. he loves caressing the small of her back,
    merging them like new advocates on an old manuscript

    nice really like those lines….and some really nice touches along the way alluding to her being a novelist…cool piece today

  2. I like how you combined all of the ideas together to write one strong piece! How neat that you had an aunt who was a novelist.

  3. Pamela, I like that the piece came from exploring your aunt. Have you read anything that she wrote? Brian spoke to the same lines I like the best. I also like that fratricide intrigued her. 🙂

I appreciate all comments.

