“Crossing Under” dVerse: OpenLinkNight – Anniversary Week

Days dawn in warmth …

It’s not the farmland or the city,
it rests somewhere in-between

A cantaloupe stains the kitchen floor;
sweet potatoes, potassium-rich,
wait to be sliced

As seeds cultivate in
fertile soil, a sorceress spoons
fortune on root’s anthology …

phenomenal, peaceful, obliging

When the river is moon-coloured,
you can swim beneath
on evening’s watery expressions,
suspended from steely zephyrs;
trouble-mist sleeps where you lay

40 responses to ““Crossing Under” dVerse: OpenLinkNight – Anniversary Week

  1. I love the description in the last paragraph. “When the river is moon-coloured you can swim beneath” It really painted a very vivid picture for me. Great poem!

  2. As seeds cultivate in
    fertile soil, a sorceress spoons
    fortune on root’s anthology …

    There are so many layers to your poem. I love dissecting them. Rich with metaphor. Loved it!

  3. beautiful…i was feeling at home as you were kitchen talking a bit there…the imagery though in that last stanza of the swimming int he watery expressions…i love it…smiles.

  4. I’m heading to the store now… No seriously, it is the small things, isn’t it?

  5. A feeling of fertility here. Love the moon-colored river.

  6. What an exquisite “taste” of summer. Beautiful imagery and a sense of contentment (for me, anyway). I’m having a sweet potato tonight!

  7. Victoria, the sweet potatoes here are wonderful, they also make candies out of them. Thanks for commenting.

  8. When the river is moon-coloured,
    you can swim beneath
    on evening’s watery expressions….love this…wanna go swimming now..

  9. Oh, I love all of this Pamela but especially this :
    ‘As seeds cultivate in
    fertile soil, a sorceress spoons
    fortune on root’s anthology …’
    Why don’t you also link it to Mary’s Poetry Jam prompt on Rivers of life, today too?

  10. Thanks for the heads up, Bren. I think I will do that.

  11. dropped back in from PJ as well…did not realize our neck was in a brace…ouch…sorry to hear that…

  12. Yeah, Brian, must be from all the years of sporting and physical activities that finally caught up with me. I have two vertebra in my neck out of alignment. It was painful until I went to the doc and he prescribed some meds and this awful neck brace. 15 days of the neck brace seems like an eternity. Thanks for the kind comment.

  13. I like the images in your poem–the foods and the river. I love sweet potatoes. They are good raw too–or maybe I am thinking of yams. Sorry to hear you neck is out of whack. All that does seem to eventually catch up with us.

  14. I love thinking of the river as moon-colored. So many beautiful images flowed forth in your poem, Pamela. I am glad that Bren directed you to Poetry Jam. Hope you will visit us other weeks too when you can!

    • Thanks Mary. I like your little site, except for one of the contributors and we both know who I mean, don’t we? Nonetheless I will be back when possible. I have loads of free time right now.

      • Yes, i know who you are referring to; but this person seems to be doing ok….. A new prompt posts every Tuesday night about 9 pm central time. Keep us in mind! Enjoy your free time…

  15. … ‘when the river is moon-coloured, you can swim beneath’ ~ like in a beautiful fairy tale. Lovely writing.

  16. Pamelita, this was so rich in imagery, I could smell the cantaloupe! As we are in a drought here in the Midwest, I was despairing, but this brought me hope – and a HUGE thunderstorm broke out tonight, drenching the grass, turning some of it instantly green from the hay-like stasis in which it was suspended… amazing, how much of nature and loveliness you caught in this poem. Amy

  17. This is full of lush images ~ I like the kitchen scenes and moon-colored river ~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/07/the-rivers-of-life.html

  18. Beautiful imagery! So glad you joined us at Poetry Jam. I especially like the colors and flavors the cantaloupe and sweet potatoes bring to the poem. The river image is magical 🙂

  19. Gorgeous images in this! I’d love to jump right into that moon-colored river. 🙂

  20. Sorry to see you have neck problems Pamela. I do too and was in one of those neck braces for a year. Thankfully I was able to take it off and give myself a break as and when. But, I was 21 and told by a hospital doctor it was due to ‘wear and tear’ … I do hope yours improves speedily, with rest.

  21. Love the idea of the river as “moon-colored”. Sorry your neck is in a brace, kiddo. Hope you mend swiftly.

  22. Pam,
    Sorry to hear of your neck troubling you. This is time in our life we get such unwanted afflictions. Pray you are ok Ma’am! Great poem!

    Hank

  23. saw the new post but got no password…. : (

  24. Barbie says,

    the way you express yourself is very clear, i understand it very well.

    I am sorry I don’t. I cannot understand what you are heading at.

    A cantaloupe stains the kitchen floor;
    sweet potatoes, potassium-rich,
    wait to be sliced

    What is a “cantaloupe”? What relation does this thing, staining the kitchen floor, have with slicing potatoes? It is, to say the least, unclear. And what is the point of the slicing of potatoes? Is that what you do when you read or write?

    As seeds cultivate in
    fertile soil, a sorceress spoons
    fortune on root’s anthology …

    What is that? Do you encourage adultery?

    Maybe your words was better understood if the reader knew you and was familiar with what occupied you at the moment. But a poem this is not.

  25. Thanks so much for your encouraging words, Barbie aka Anders Woje Ellingsen. Google the word “cantaloupe”, then you will find out what it is … Do you encourage “Adultery”?
    Have you ever heard of METAPHOR?????¿¿¿¿¿

    “Maybe your words was better understood if the reader knew you and was familiar with what occupied you at the moment. But a poem this is not.”

    Correction: would be better understood, if the reader knew you and “were” familiar with what occupied you at the moment.

    Oh, by the way this is my poem, yes, that is what I call it. However, if you do not like it, why bother leaving a snarky remark? Do you feel better, Barbie?

I appreciate all comments.

