“Ravenstones Begin to Fall” Margo Roby: Wordgathering:Tuesday Try an Image Out

A muster lands on a ravenstone,
clapping wings, cawing air

One winter, a powerful bite rubbed
me cool on the beach; I watched
a bird on a spiral tower,
waiting for love

Sandy clouds hang
hard on my breath in a sea-green frame …

The muster continues clapping and cawing

Montauk Point Lighthouse

*I am also posting this for dVerse poets, Open Link Night – week 56*

14 responses to ““Ravenstones Begin to Fall” Margo Roby: Wordgathering:Tuesday Try an Image Out

  1. I like this very much, Pamela. I started to copy my favourite line and image, then realised that really, I would have to copy all. Strong imagery.

  2. i like how you wrap around back ot the opening image….really like the feel of the stanza that ends in waiting on love…very nice piece…

    • Brian, this was taken from an old memory on the beach during the winter in NY. The lighthouse you see is very familiar to me as a child. We would go to the beach in the winter and the wind would just bite through your clothing. Everything seemed so lonely on those days.

  3. What is a muster? A type of bird?
    Love this:
    ‘a bird on a spiral tower,
    waiting for love’

  4. Very nice Pamela !! love the spiral tower !!

  5. A stunning write, Pamela! Love the images.

  6. ‘Cawing air…’ that is so perfect–this is really excellent, tight, and extremely alive writing Pamela. ‘Sandy clouds..’.well, I won’t quote the whole thing back to you, but it really is worthy of it, of savoring every line.

  7. I could see the bird landing in my minds eye “clapping wings, clawing air” – great choice of words to describe this event. Peaceful.

  8. Thanks Ken and welcome to my blog. Peaceful yes, but also desolate in my memory.

I appreciate all comments.

