Calypso at the Door The Sunday Whirl #70

Molecules weave endless cohesion,
gently lingering definitions,
in prelude to caution’s tale

Nothing diminishes quickly
on these tinted surfaces; time isn’t
fixed, its tip insidious

This “No Trespassing” sign inverts
tinny hope, practicality split
by someone’s dream

I pick up a flowerpot — nicked,
storm-weathered, fractured clay
still shiny, vivid without decay

Fragility drifts in rows,
waving stalled remembrance,
awaiting anomalies’ bloom

45 responses to “Calypso at the Door The Sunday Whirl #70

  1. Love the vivid detail of the flower pot, weathered, cracked, but still shiny. Fragility drifts in rows….a lovey read Pamela.

  2. ” awaiting anomalies’ bloom” I do like that.

  3. “time isn’t fixed” – combined with the “Calypso” of your title had me thrumming throughout…. 🙂

    • Pearl, on Tuesday we had a couple of young men parked right out side of our front door playing Calypso music. It caught me off guard, but made for an interesting title. 🙂

  4. very nice….lovehte nothing diminishes stanza…and the frgility one…they bear truth…the nicked flower pot as well is a great touch….

    i have some good news for you but i cant tell you yet….haha…

  5. This is definitely food for thought:
    ” time isn’t
    fixed, its tip insidious” along with so many other things you have written in this poem full of beautiful imagesand details that just flow!

  6. Cool title, Pamela! Loved that last stanza: “Fragility drifts in rows, waving stalled remembrance,
    awaiting anomalies’ bloom.”

  7. What comes to my mind is the aftermath of foul weather – the flowerpot left nicked yet still useful, not completely destroyed. I think of Calypso could have been the name of the hurricane. I enjoyed the enchantment of time and dreams well woven.
    I’m here:
    http://chineseculture.about.com/od/chinesefestivals/a/Hungry-Ghost-Festival.htm

  8. So beautiful from start to finish!

  9. Lovely… especially:

    I pick up a flowerpot — nicked,
    storm-weathered, fractured clay
    still shiny, vivid without decay

  10. I’m with Laurie. That image is the most vivid for me.
    No, I don’t have a poem, but I was missing going around!

    margo

    • Margo, you have been missed. So, when are you going to beat your muse up, and give us a poem? I do know how you feel, I have been struggling terribly myself. I have decided to stay away from the computer’s word processor and write in my journal only. It seems to be helping. I think??? 🙂

      • Interesting to hear you are trying a journal, Pamela. I laughed when I read that because I remember the first time someone told me they wrote on their word processor. I couldn’t wrap my head around it. I love writing in my notebook, feeling the pen and the paper, being able to draw arrows, jot notes near certain lines, write questions… all of it. I’ll be interested to hear how you do.

        margo

      • Pen! Good grief NO! I use a pencil and have started wearing out many erasers 🙂 Honestly, I love the feel of the soft lead pencils, that must come from my drawing history, which is sadly neglected as of late. I will let you know how the journal thingy is going.

  11. Yes, it’s the flowerpot that sticks with me. I also like “awaiting anomolies’ bloom.”

  12. I am with Brenda. The idea of waiting for anomalies to bloom goes perfectly somehow with gently lingering definitions. Great write Pamela!

  13. Love seeing where people take the wordle words. Good write!

  14. Once again I have been lax lately. We are wimpy here in WA and had a bit of heat for a couple of weeks where sleep was not forthcoming so writing or visiting hasn’t happened. Love the write and hope all is well with you.

  15. I particularly like your description of the flowerpot.

  16. Thanks Annette. That seems to be unanimous, lol.

  17. This is powerful, lovely the analogy of our aging bodies to the flowerpot. “…time isn’t fixed, its tip insidious…” great wordl.

  18. Love how you take, paint the absolutely ordinary details into an extraordinary experience. Doesn’t matter how long it takes Pamela, your poems are well worth the wait,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  19. Lovely wordle..I too love the nicked flowerpot.

  20. Pamela, the title is NEVER a fluke! Sometimes it is the poetry itself. And the poetry itself? Outstanding (as always).

  21. “Fragility drifts in rows”

    Gorgeous!

  22. Excellent!!

I appreciate all comments.

