“A Strawberry is not a Berry, but a Banana is …” The Sunday Whirl 71

A black orchid hangs above her door, symbol
of life and death; she’s tattooed ancient history
between her breasts, feathering down, linking
eternity

On the table lies a pencil drawing of a mongoose;
music traces through dusk, the house woven
in memories, emptiness and fulfillment

She’s a puzzle: science’s variable of empty
essentials, an embrocator of rose water and
sesame seed oil, a chain of pleasure within
a white picket fence

In the bedroom, a delicate sweet recipe
never forgotten, forever forgiven when
dropping bracelets to the floor …

30 responses to ““A Strawberry is not a Berry, but a Banana is …” The Sunday Whirl 71

  1. Your last two stanzas…wow!! Great wordle!!

  2. a chain of pleasure in a white picket fence….smiles….makes me think of finding out way where we are planted…the fences dont have to define us….

  3. Wow…that first stanza is amazing for its imagery. She’s a puzzle… I want to say the first and last stanzas are my favourite but, it is all a fabulous read.

  4. Each stanza beautifully composed; together – a strong wordle woven whole!

  5. This is beautiful, Pamela. I especially like the ending.

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2012/08/when-poets-joined-to-play.html

  6. I love it, Pamela. The mongoose added interest, though I’m not sure why. LoL The ending is a bit sensual and mysterious. Excellent write! Your images are always so unique.

  7. So many gorgeous images, Pamela! Favorite: “music traces through dusk, the house woven in memories, emptiness and fulfillment.” And I love your title. You always come up with the most wonderful titles!!!

  8. I too loved “music traces through dusk” – that stanza stopped me in my tracks. Beautiful writing.

  9. Beautifully done!

  10. lots of vivid imagery, and emotion…..lovely flow to this

  11. lovely poem, you’ve painted a find picture of a life.

  12. Very nice of you, Paige.

  13. I love every intoxicating line. As always your images whirl and I would so love to photograph them. Sensual, mysterious and somehow very real. Once again I just love your poems.

  14. Beautifully drawn Pamela, as usual. Your imagery always entices and you catch your reader up in the flow. I believe that all young women, at some point, or both beautiful and sorceresses. It’s a part of growing up. Thanks for the flow of images,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2012/08/26/loosely-knit/

  15. Some stunning imagery in your work, Pamela.

  16. Love this poem, especially that intriguing ending.

  17. I love this, Pamela:
    a chain of pleasure within
    a white picket fence

  18. Purely a delight of imagery in words.

I appreciate all comments.

