Parchment Paper on the Table The Sunday Whirl #79

A busy café on the corner.

Recommended coffee: latte.

Our conversation…
eyes peering at us through a fern.

A sturdy cabinet can hold me up,
even if it has no handles …
where peanuts on the floor
are my only distraction.

Whose hands guide us?

Butterflies pass by,
multi-faceted — soft, fluttering.
And your face changes with a smile …
a score of life written in soft skin.

So many things happening around us.
We laugh or cry. Dance. Talk and sing.

Think about the rain and
when it will end.
From a dark cloud, lightness
creeps up from behind and we
forget — temporarily.

27 responses to “Parchment Paper on the Table The Sunday Whirl #79

  1. I do like the smile couplet. It’s like a fulcrum.

    • Thanks, Barb. I feel as if some of this might be disjointed (but, then some moments feel that exact way, don’t they?), it has some parts that are worth further exploring when I have the time. Thanks for the words.

  2. I love all of this. The butterfly stanza bought a smile.. it was all so soft, gentle, filled with lovely imagery.

    • Bren, I have been seeing more butterflies this year than the last few here. I suppose it is because this year the weather is quite mild. Generally it is quite cold by now, well, not snowy, but cold for me.

  3. Hope you are feeling better this week! Wasn’t sure I would manage to write anything. Had my darling 3 year old granddaughter for an overnight on Friday and was completely exhausted when she left. Your titles always pull me right in. So intriguing! I loved this stanza: “Butterflies pass by,
    multi-faceted — soft, fluttering. And your face changes with a smile … a score of life written in soft skin.” Really gorgeous.

    • I am actually feeling like a human again, Marianne. I had the worst flu I have ever had in my life last week. My brain felt like mush and all I wanted to do was sleep-sleep-sleep. Thanks for asking and thanks for the nice comment as always.

  4. This is superb, Mark. I love your gentle poems.

  5. Butterflies pass by,
    multi-faceted — soft, fluttering.
    And your face changes with a smile …
    a score of life written in soft skin….is such a lovely stanza…def dont mind a latte either….smiles…

  6. I didn’t really need the Zocalo picture to take me back to my semester in Mexico – your words did it all! Especially the butterflies!

  7. Wonderful Pamela, those moments that keep us sane…butterflies and lightness creeping up on us.

  8. I like the flow of this, Pamela, and how it ends…and doesn’t? Love how you take me into your day of spending a ‘moment’ with you.

  9. Your poem pulled me right in and I was standing there wondering about the rain and drinking the latte. Yeah for lightness creeping in.

  10. Peggy, we have been getting sporadic rain this time of year, the rainy season is generally finished by now. It is always a pleasure when the lightness creeps in, no?

  11. I like this very much, and it seemed somewhat familiar with the grey wintery weather we’re having right now.

  12. That was really good…!
    From now on I’m drinking latte!

  13. Butterflys, little winged messageners, bring news from afar. Monarchs on their way to Mexico, met me at my Mother’s last year, in “her going away.” I will never forget. Monarchs, rarely seen in New Mexico, off their path. Reminder of the “joy” when we can’t really see it. Loved this piece.

  14. Except for the dancing…which I might be able to associate with family weddings…this reminds me of a parent/child relationship. The verbal dancing – and especially with older parents thinking about endings.
    And yet your words have a gentle calm note about them too.

    Thanks for your visit to my place. It is a tangled web I’m weaving.

  15. Oh, I did also mean to say that I am glad you are on the mend!
    I’ve been there a few times when all I’ve wanted to to was sleep and allow my body to heal. Be well!

  16. Lovely take on this Wordle! It has been a long time since I had been here, much to my regret. I shall do my best. Writing has taken over my life, and now I am wondering why no one is reading mine! Duh! But actually, my blog has slowed down quite a bit because of other writing demands. I am really making a push for being published. Reading such poetry as yours leads me to believe that I have very stiff competition!

    Love this line: “Think about the rain and
    when it will end.
    From a dark cloud, lightness
    creeps up from behind and we
    forget — temporarily.”

  17. Nicely done Pamela. I’m in Vancouver and also wondering when this rain will ever stop…lol… 🙂

I appreciate all comments.

