Bust the Horizon The Sunday Whirl #83

Cul-de-sac moon of a mother’s love
shines on the silent sun, counting pearls in
beauty’s duration.

Sun shines soul’s abundance
as the moon swallows riverbanks,
spilling into night.

Fingers touch, healing wounds, scars lift
from vision, smiles form peace,
faces reveal skylines —
bust the horizon.

Aerial seas float paper boats;
alabaster winters wave-kiss
pages – unfound embedded,
this child’s life.

Where alchemist fire melds spiritual
metal, pride-heart dies silver
on desert sand, or a carousel
riding on godbent tranquillity
suspended forever in wishes from stars.

There is no sorry in visual sensation, no
wrong walkways through rootless trees,
Mother’s cul-de-sac yields begotten;
dance hope fades in willowed song.

39 responses to “Bust the Horizon The Sunday Whirl #83

  1. Wow, I love where you went with the wordle words.

  2. I love Cul-de-sac moon but the whole piece just left me tingling with your word choices. Beautiful.

  3. Sun shines soul’s abundance

    faces reveal skylines….some fun imagery in this pamela…

    Where alchemist fire melds spiritual
    metal, pride-heart dies silver
    on desert sand…is my fav line though….def a thought burner…smiles.

    • Brian, have you ever read “The Alchemist” or “American Gods”? I thought about those novels when writing this, and what a loss it would be if mothers didn’t read to their children like when I was young. I know some people here who still read bedtime stories to their young, and it is life affirming for me with all of the technology we have now. Thanks.

  4. Sun, moon, stars, wishes, mother’s love…but this who stanza is stunning:
    Where alchemist fire melds spiritual
    metal, pride-heart dies silver
    on desert sand, or a carousel
    riding on godbent tranquility
    suspended forever in wishes from stars.
    Wonderful read.

  5. Pamela…there are so many images and unique words to describe them in this piece…a feast!! I love the alabaster seas…rootless trees the idea that there is no wrong walkway. Great poem!

  6. Amazing, Pamela… I love this. You had me with that first stanza…

  7. …suspended forever in wishes from stars….

    Yes! Beautiful write, Pamela.

  8. Again Pamela, I find myself not just admiring, but envying as well. What a delight to read your words,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/burnt-sacrifice/

  9. Really enjoyed contemplating these lines, Pamela.

    “There is no sorry in visual sensation, no
    wrong walkways through rootless trees,”

    Some really clever wordings in your wordle poem today!

  10. RYN: No need to apologise, Sometimes we all wish we’d said/done something at the time things happen and don’t until we realise later that we should have. The main thing is, you probably will in the future.
    Ramble away 🙂 I enjoyed reading your thoughts

  11. Oh, my. This is gorgeous.
    I especially love:
    “as the moon swallows riverbanks,
    spilling into night.”

  12. I really like this! You have a beautiful, clean blog. What a lovely place. 🙂

  13. wow…what a journey! fanciful and swirling, like a silk scarf in the wind. thanks for sharing ~

  14. What a panoply of images and wordplay; this is lovely and exciting … I really enjoyed it, especially all the moon references … a special wordle.

    Thanks for coming by my elephant blog earlier and commenting – much appreciated.

  15. Thanks for visiting the short form mix wordle I offered.

    Your verse reminds me of space, enough space for wizards in tower or even early mathematicians to combine their faith with the sciences. Like Copernicus (I believe)- who, I think ended up having to recant his science to please the Church because they didn’t like that he proved that the earth was not the center of the universe.

  16. Excellent piece. Has a magical quality to it.

  17. Gorgeous, Pamela! Absolutely.

  18. The phrase “where alchemist fire melds spiritual metal,” just stunning, Pamelita. And I think Jules is thinking of Galileo, no? But no matter. This is one of your best poems, truly. Shop it around, kiddo. Love, Amelita
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/11/19/interview-with-sgt-davis-kabul-2012/

  19. Great imagination, great post!

  20. This is one stunning poem, Pamela. As Amy suggests above, shop it around.

I appreciate all comments.

