“Diving into the Blue Tide” The Sunday Whirl #84

Grey-cloud moon
whispers night’s
calmness;

strobe lights
flash glass
buildings, protecting
delicate walls.

Earth’s sway
forces leverage,
teetering
day and night.

Scent flows flora
at her nape,
molecules
held in amorous thread.

Honey-flecked jewels skim
sunsets, stilling this
evening’s
sight;

those who fall into oblivion’s
current, swim
and seek unto the end.

29 responses to ““Diving into the Blue Tide” The Sunday Whirl #84

  1. Very atmospheric, Pamela. Very well wordled.

  2. the forth and fifth stanzas in particular are really good….love the almost sensual bit with nature there…the scents really rbing it alive…and nice close too..

  3. bring….sheesh…smiles.

  4. Lovely… especially:

    Scent flows flora
    at her nape,
    molecules
    held in amorous thread.

  5. Really like the amorous thread that runs throughout your poem, Pamela. You’ve switched up your line length and spaces. Good for you for experimenting,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2012/11/25/first-kiss/

  6. You remarked that you liked the last few lines of my wordle, but I have to say the same of yours. Well done.

  7. It builds up nicely to the conclusion with evocative lines.

  8. I find this very intimate and even sensual in places. The scent at the nape is a lovely image too.
    Really lovely.

  9. magicalmysticalteacher

    “those who fell into oblivion’s”

    I can’t help but wonder if this would be an even more powerful line if rendered in the present tense. Just a thought…

    My Whirling Wordle Words

  10. “Scent flows flora
    at her nape,
    molecules
    held in amorous thread.”

    This is my favorite verse. once I was able to swim in a warm ocean unimpeded by false illumination. Probably wasn’t the smartest thing to do. But the salt reminds me of the molecules…and the barely lit ripples of small white caps along the beach…the amorous thread.

    Glad I could bring you joy filled memories.

  11. Yes, that is where this came from, Jules. I have never had the opportunity to swim in phosphorescent waters, but I do have friends, who have told me of their experiences. I believe it would be just wonderful. Thanks.

  12. oblivion’s current – a fine phrase! Love this poem.

  13. ‘oblivion’s current’ really got me – nice.

  14. I think I should come to Mexico for a midnight swim. ha! I love the images and your use of language, Pamela. I reread the title, and read the poem a second time. It got me wishing for moonlight swimming. Too cold for that right now….. Thanks for taking me there.

    • Thanks, Brenda. I would love to go to a beach where the “blue tide” is. Sadly, that is nowhere near here. We do have what they call the Agua Azul (name of the spring), because the color of the water is entirely blue as it is very sulfurous, and has healing properties for such things as female sterility, arthritis and stress. For me it is entirely too chilly to get in, but some of my friends say it is warm, and it is claimed to be 28.5 celsius (83 f). But it seems much colder than that to me.

  15. “those who fell into oblivion’s
    current, swim
    and seek unto the end.”

    Beautifully written.

  16. Pamelita, thank you for your encouraging words on my blog. Things are indeed improving on one front, and the rest will be tested…

    Must admit, while the description of those waters I know so well was drizzled in sensuality and lovely imagery, I, the Black Irish girl, found the most meaning in the part about “oblivion’s current.” Strong finish for a great poem. Peace, Amy, and here’s my blue:
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/12/02/devil-and-the-deep-blue/

  17. JasmineKyleSings

    Honey-flecked jewels skim
    sunsets, stilling this
    evening’s
    sight;
    Exactly I find the most sparkly magical time of day in the one you describe here. Especially when the firefly’s are out. Captivating verse thank you.

I appreciate all comments.

