“Musical Mornings” The Sunday Whirl #98

Wind rides in with morning;
I breathe the moist, cool air.
Blessed, the sun rises
behind houses, I turn
on the coffee, make toast
and jam.

I sit by the window, listening to wings
rustling trees; these moments balance,
like citrus flowers caressing
senses, instant and unforgotten.

Music swings soft in this cool morning air,
chasing blue notes like some dust-memory;
as I picture you here at the window with me,
daylight’s first glimmer alights.

24 responses to ““Musical Mornings” The Sunday Whirl #98

  1. wonderful.

  2. nice…coffee, i take mine balck…and i will glad sit and observe the morning…as for me it is finding balance…like the citrus flowers and the sneses too…lovely visuals pamela…

  3. this is incredibly lovely and breezy and lightened my morning. thanks!

  4. Oh yeah… that’s my kind of morning!

  5. That was supposed to simply read:

    Very nice piece. I like the morning feel with coffee, toast and jam, listening to the wings rustling trees, and chasing the notes like some dust-memory, picturing you here… with me.

  6. magicalmysticalteacher

    I’ve watched daylight’s first glimmer from a rooftop terrace in Zacatecas, and it is lovely. But I find all of Mexico lovely!

  7. So well wordled! Though I rarely get up in time to watch the sun rise (no matter what my intentions) it is a lovely time to experience.

  8. these moments balance,
    like citrus flowers caressing
    senses, instant and unforgotten.

    Pamela, I love this.

  9. Love how you took these words and made them uniquely your own, and the music of the morning is an ongoing miracle to many of us. Thank you, my friend,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/reserved-flight/

  10. The ending is full of sweetness. Morning is my favorite time of day, and you paint it beautifully.

  11. Beautiful imagery here 🙂

  12. With your keen observations you wrap the moment in perfection. Nice Pamela.

  13. You paint a truly lovely morning feeling, Pamela.

  14. Musical harmony..the smells..the sights..the wonderful toast and jam..something to really savour..

  15. Gorgeous. That first stanza is a poem in its own right. (and you totally slew the wordle–I still can’t find it)

    • Barb, I didn’t use 4 of the words, and changed the tense of 1, maybe that is why they are so well hidden 🙂 Thanks for the nice comment.

      • You know darn well it’s still a wordle poem if you only use one.

      • Yeah, I know, but I always feel a bit disappointed with myself if I don’t use them all or change tenses. Not sure why though. But I also won’t cram them in a piece if it doesn’t feel right either. Oh, so contrary am I, lol.

  16. as I picture you here at the window with me,
    daylight’s first glimmer alights

    How nice it is to be with someone dear. It lights up the whole day. What yearnings can do for one! Nicely Pam!

    Hank

  17. What a lovely visual –

  18. So brief is the space for opening windows here. Too cold (as with the snow on the way this evening) or too warm filled with pollen – and in need of filtering the air from allergens. But at least I do now have a nice bay window to look out on….and even with the glass between us I can hear bird song.

    Hmmm. Coffee that sounds good this morning. Thanks for your encouraging words and visit.

  19. chasing blue notes like some dust-memory… such inventive phrasing. it hasn’t taken me long to be a fan, pamela.

    cheers,

    mark butkus

  20. Pam, I’m a sucker for music references, and this line resonates: “Music swings soft in this cool morning air,
    chasing blue notes like some dust-memory;”

    Well conceived and expressed. A wonderful morning.

  21. A lovely Sunday whirl indeed. One does love to chase the blue notes.

I appreciate all comments.

