Nina Simone by Tom Russell

Trains used to run
All across Mexico
Way down through the Yucatan
Where ever in hell you know
It was down in San Cristobal
That I first heard the sound
Of Nina’s voice on the juke box
spinning darkly around
And I was so lost down there
Out of love and walking alone
But walking beside me
Was Nina Simone

Tonight in my dressing room
the tea kettle rattles
water pipes dripping down
On a plate of Spanish apples

Outside in the train yard
Is just Hanks Williams talking
to Nina Simone
Yeah we’ve been to hell and back
Love cut us right down to the bone
But walking besides us
Is Nina Simone

I’ve driven your highways and back roads
I rode the grey dog
Through the snow and the sleet and the hail,
through the sunlight and through the fog

I’ve heard the ravens call morning up
With a little raw saxaphones
But the darkest of ravens
was Nina Simone
Yeah we’ve been to hell and back
Love cut us right down to the bone
But walking besides us
Was Nina Simone.
Trains used to run…
All across Mexico…

Read more: TOM RUSSELL – NINA SIMONE LYRICS

6 responses to “Nina Simone by Tom Russell

  1. Oh, how I hear this poem, Pamela. I just love the voice of Nina Simone! Love these lines:

    But the darkest of ravens
    was Nina Simone
    Yeah we’ve been to hell and back
    Love cut us right down to the bone
    But walking besides us
    Was Nina Simone.

  2. Outside in the train yard
    Is just Hanks Williams talking
    to Nina Simone

    Hank Williams had been an inspiration for me when growing up! Thanks for the memory! Nicely Pam!

    Hank

  3. Always loved Nina Simone. Thanks for this.

  4. Such a beautiful song, thinking of singing it for part of my training but don’t know a lot about it. Could anyone possibly give me a history or plot line? I know the song is pretty self explanatory but it would help lots xx

I appreciate all comments.

