“Reckoning Allusion” dVerse Open Link #87

She lives reclusive influence,
withdrawn into her fate,
swearing unchanged poses
of confessional decision.

A satin love bird flies to
perch alone on façade’s
altar, dripping melting candle
wax into the laps of others.

Sprinkling holy water crosses,
sacrifice tatters
losses, sublime misled
confessional kneels
cubicles alone.

Broken unification prays
to anyone who will listen,
as glistening daylight
slivers euphoria in her hair.

30 responses to ““Reckoning Allusion” dVerse Open Link #87

  1. Sounds like a very sad life, with a faith seemingly composed of rituals only and a recluse outside of that! But then again, at the end it is said “glistening daylight slivers euphoria in her hair,” which perhaps brings her some joy.

  2. Recovered from last week?
    I read indecision at first.Bit of a shambles around her, it seems.
    Such striking adjective noun combinations.

  3. dripping melting candle
    wax into the laps of others… like mary i get a sad feeling when reading this..can imagine how lonely she must be..maybe the rituals the only things that give her hold

  4. really interesting imagery in this…the satin bird perching above the altar….misled confessional kneels….they come together to put quite the mood on this one….though i agree with claudia in that sometimes ritual is what will hold us together…

  5. I love the second stanza, great imagery !

  6. I have a picture of a woman who holds tightly to the rituals and her reclusiveness because they provide the only certainties in her life – a life that is both sad and chaotic. Maybe I’m wrong …

  7. A satin love bird flies to
    perch alone on façade’s
    altar, dripping melting candle
    wax into the laps of others.

    This just says so much… I love it.

  8. I like “slivers euphoria in her hair”, They glitter a bit.

  9. “Facades altar” made me think her rituals had become jewelry for her life, and that perhaps the deeper meaning of them had been lost.

  10. I have an impression of woman going to confession as part of her ritual ~ The image on the second stanza of satin love bird is most striking to me ~

    And yes my poem about the creek is my entry for last week prompt about the place ~

  11. Hi, I really enjoyed the second verse..a satin love bird flies..beautiful…

  12. A poignant piece, Pamela. I understand so much about this as even though I no longer attend the Catholic church, I was raised by a father who belonged there so often went of a Saturday to confession with dad and then to mass on Sunday. A nice memory wrapped up in this write.

  13. Slivering euphoria in the sunlight is such a great description. Wonderful. k.

  14. Ok the slivers of euphoria thing was pure genius.

  15. this moves, breathes, even sadness lives

  16. The dripping wax is such powerful imagery, and I love the ending as well, really nice.

  17. I was in Mexico once for Ash Wednesday and in El Salvador for 3 weeks after a huge earthquake in 1986 (as a nurse). I found the people’s relationship to the Church/faith fascinating to observe if so different than that which is familiar to me. You’ve captured it here…described what I was never able to articulate. Wonderful.

  18. as soon as i read the wax play, i’m thinking of that Madonna movie 🙂
    then:

    Sprinkling holy water crosses,
    sacrifice tatters
    losses, sublime misled
    confessional kneels
    cubicles alone.

    as an ex superfan of Maddy ‘s this stanza didnt shake her image off either!
    but i loved the conclusion lines, a superb parting gift . . . i’m off to youtube for some ‘Holiday . . . oh yeah, lets celebrate’ 🙂

    cheers pamela

  19. Ritual, routine… some need it in order to focus…

  20. I am reading a bitterness in this. Hurt. Pain. A blackness of heart, perhaps torn by unrequited love or institutional neglect. There is an instinctive biting back at betrayal or rejection. The satin love bird lies broken and bleeding on the waxy altar of regret. I am reading the cards correctly, si?

    • No, su interpretación no es correcta. Esta persona no es amargo ni experimentar el amor no correspondido, que están contentos con la manera en que su vida es y está acostumbrada a los rituales. Pero gracias por el comentario profundo.

  21. i absolutely love your style of writing…i look forward to reading your blog.
    i am a moved by this stanza.. love how you mix nature in with religious ideas.
    A satin love bird flies to
    perch alone on façade’s
    altar, dripping melting candle
    wax into the laps of others.
    Embracing our faith and knowing where it might lie.
    thank you

  22. Hi Pamela!
    While this might not be familiar to me, I see similarities in adherence in holy rituals. Today, it is important to me to understand – but back then when I was a child, if I did not have the rituals, I might have not stayed put long enough to learn the rudiments of religion.

  23. Oh the last stanza is breathtakingly beautiful.

  24. This poem brings me back home to Mexico and its’ altars. Beautifully spun! Your poetry captivates me.
    Cheers,
    Mark Butkus

  25. beautifully written, and strikes me as so sad.

  26. hello Pam….lots going on here…really enjoyed your words…thanks

  27. Thanks all for the super nice comments.

I appreciate all comments.

