“In Simple Hue” The Sunday Whirl #101

Disguised in happiness, Camilla
cries to a forgotten sun as sand
and years slip through her hands.

Where are the tree-lined
riverbanks now lost to the
countryside? — behind city skylines?

She’s stirred life’s potential
into crystal jars stored on shelves
in observation of yesterday’s
wounds.

In mindful moments she
sits solitary, staring across
the room, wondering how
the hurry of grey sky gazed
her soul.

23 responses to ““In Simple Hue” The Sunday Whirl #101

  1. Lyrical. I’m not sure about gazing – is this a typo?

  2. This resonates with me all too well.

  3. Sometimes we have to face our fears so that they don’t just become excuses…

  4. Nostalgia. I feel for her. I feel we have lost so much to that city skyline.

  5. Robyn Greenhouse

    I really like how you used the wordle words – sand and years slip through her hands, stirred life’s potential into crystal jars. Could feel and see poor Camilla sitting alone in her room.

  6. Love this, Pamela, especially: ” sand and years slip through her hands.”
    “The hurry of grey sky gazed her soul” is spectacular. My muse has been MIA. I’ve missed you and The Whirl!
    xox Marianne

  7. magicalmysticalteacher

    Out of all the images in this poem, the simple “years slip through her hands” affects me most—probably because the same thing is happening to me!

    A Dozen Whirls

  8. nice…really cool…your opening stanza is great…disguised happiness, forgotten sun and years as sand….three really great pieces that hook you up front..cool close too…felt verse pamela

  9. I like the idea of ‘the hurry of grey skies’. Her character comes through strongly.

  10. Disguised in happiness (yes, so many are disguised there). Years slip through her hands and mine too, all too quickly. I ache for lost countryside in my native Georgia. Love your poem.

  11. I love it all. Putting things in jars on shelves is a great metaphor. Once again, you rock the poetry circuit. Your initial phrase is fantastic. I may steal it to springboard a poem in April. I’ll credit you when I do. “Disguised in happiness….”

  12. That jar feels as if it is overflowing with sadness..stories maybe..jars do seem relevant to how it feels to write..maybe we all have these collections on our inner shelves..waiting to take form and come alive again..dear Camilla..

  13. I have been away for awhile- taking care of lots of jars lately. Wonderful woman, you write her well.

  14. I echo all or most of the comments here – I too like “the grey sky gazed her soul” – it’s one of those lines that gives you pause, then makes you nod…only works in a poem…very nice work Pamela…

    http://nsaynne.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/if-i-if-you/

  15. very nice, really like the first stanza and the ‘mindful moments

  16. I like the idea of nature in the form of clouds observing our actions. And why now we see them and visualize their actions too.

  17. J Cosmo Newbery

    Nicely put. I think we all lament the affects of grey skies.

  18. I was caught up on this piece from the first stanza. Lovely work.

  19. She’s stirred life’s potential
    into crystal jars stored on shelves
    in observation of yesterday’s
    wounds.

    Just love that 🙂

  20. Hi Pamela!
    In response to your question, I did sign up for NaPo again this year. Saw your name, too. 🙂

    Thanks for the wonderful tip about Barb’s site. I’m in!!!

    • Oh, that is great, Marianne. Is this our 3rd or 4th year for napo? I have taken a glimpse at some of Barb’s ideas. They are pretty cool. It will be nice to congregate over at her place. Again, it is so nice to see you back at the whirl. 🙂

  21. Like everyone else before me, that first stanza pulled me in and kept me there. Beautiful flow of images Pamela, you do such wonderful work,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

I appreciate all comments.

