“South American Working Girl” Napowrimo day #4

This post has been removed for revision

14 responses to ““South American Working Girl” Napowrimo day #4

  1. You’ve brought her to life… but I think she needs a holiday to really revive her…!

  2. Oh, wonderful!

  3. This is beautiful, Pamela. I can see that same age seeping into me. Wonderful write. thank you. Mine’s a napo prompt tonight:
    http://undercaws.com/2013/04/04/prosthetic-conscience/

    • Thanks Brenda. She is supposed to be a working girl who was unhappy with life/fate, not sure how that came to me from GG Marquez, though he does run along a dark vein with his writing. I will be over to see you in a bit.

  4. You’ve done an amazing job! My favorite parts:
    “Her desire to eat an orange had
    become impossible – the cool and sour
    company of oranges; she remembered
    the orange tree in the courtyard.”
    and
    “She went to the window and caught an
    angel in his first attempts at flight; freed
    from the weight of her intimacy, the oil
    lamps began to go out.”

    • Marianne, it took me almost 2 hours compiling lines that would work, and it took about ten minutes to put them together. I tried to stay true to cento form and only changed “the angel” to “an angel”, and “the oil lamp” to “the oil lamps”, shhh, don’t tell anyone. 🙂

  5. The last stanza to me, exudes a freedom rewarded.

  6. Jules, in my mind she died and I guess there is a certain freedom to that.

  7. Pamela, I am really liking these cento poems more and more. Wonder if it would be possible to do one a day, they really are fun and call for similar but different skills. Your piece is a true portrait,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/ode-to-those-golden-years/

  8. Elizabeth, I have only written one other, and it was almost 4 years ago. I didn’t mean to get so involved in this, but once I started copying lines, well, I couldn’t stop until the character was developed. I think it is an excellent exercise in determining what works and what doesn’t. Now, I am not sure I would want to do it every day. 🙂 Thanks.

  9. how intriguing…really cool verse…the last stanza in particular i find rather magical and was a stand out for me….the oranges as well…took me back to florida…we used to have an orange tree and would eat them til we were sick on saturday mornings….

  10. Astonishing, how you can coax lines out of those works and make them a completely accessible poem. Man, I’d give anything to get orange and mango trees to grow in Wisconsin! I’m going downstairs for a warm orange right now! Takes me back to SoCal and Puerto Rico. Love, Amy

I appreciate all comments.

