To Fade Napowrimo day #22

On the border tonight, starlight moves crazy,
hurting my eyes as they seek reverie,
slowed by unconscious surrendering motion
or the song here and there of the wind in the trees.

Ravenous blackness cries crystalline madness
of forgotten memories never to be,
I sit in this stillness, alone and unfeeling
like the song here and there of the wind in the trees.

I lost her right here ’neath the cloud-covered moonlight,
the leaves still remember her faded, torn pleas,
I sit in this stillness, alone without feeling
like the song here and there of the wind in the trees.

Starlight moves crazy to fade in your arms
like a serenade lost of undying dreams,
I sit in this stillness and try to forget
the song here and there of the wind in the trees.

7 responses to “To Fade Napowrimo day #22

  1. I’m loving the crazy fade…

  2. Love the repetition of this line: “the song here and there of the wind in the trees.”

  3. Like and double like. One of your very best.

  4. nice…that ravenous blackness line is wicked…i read it a few times just for fun…the repetition is tight…and each time a little differnt meaning for me…i rather like the song of nature but it can def be mournful at times as well

  5. I can image that this could be how my father might have felt when my mother died early. And while he did not speak much of her, I think he might have looked for that haunting refrain of ‘the song here and there of the wind in the trees.

  6. Hauntingly lovely, Pamela. tremendous feeling in the repeated refrain,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/spring-meltdown/

  7. This reminds me a bit of the villanelle form, pamela, or even the rondeau or roundel, with that haunting refrain and meter…but I also love the crazy fade line as pure poetry, and the excellent cadence which propels the reader from word to word to line to stanza…the imagery is also very well chosen throughout to leave a sense of loss, yet also some richness remaining on the palette.

I appreciate all comments.

