“Poem Starting with a Line by Stephen Crane” Napowrimo #25

I saw a man pursuing the horizon;
dancing with a rapier in hand,
folding the sky and clouds in lacy
patterns, I was curious and followed,
falling into an elixir of moon and stars.

Process notes:
The line I chose is also title of
Stephen Crane’s poem
“I saw a man pursuing the horizon”

He was a historian, journalist, poet,
and author of short stories and novels.
His Civil War novel “The Red Badge of Courage” (1895)
is a classic of American literature.

Miz Quickly's 25 Starting with a Line by________

Miz Quickly’s 25 Starting with a Line by________

17 responses to ““Poem Starting with a Line by Stephen Crane” Napowrimo #25

  1. I like that you kept the poem short, one strong image and a brief story. I wish I had thought of that!

    margo

  2. i know him best for red badge…cool little verse…
    rather whimsical…the fall into the moon and stars, the man with the sword folding the clouds….pretty cool…

    • Thanks, Brian. I never read that novel, but my husband did. I must now find it. Actually, I had little interest in history in school and now it fascinates me, go figure.

  3. That’s an image that sticks around…!

  4. I like the brevity of this poem. That last line is gorgeous:
    “falling into an elixir of moon and stars.” WoW!
    Just 5 more days. We can count ’em on one hand!!! Wish we could meet for a drink to celebrate.

  5. I’m with Marianne,wish we could all get together when it’s over and just sip a bit and relax. I also like the brevity, and the tone, and the flow of images, lol.
    You are doing just fine girl,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/poem-starting-with-a-line-by-anne-sexton/

  6. I enjoyed every well place word. I think of Don Quixote finding peace in directing his world.

  7. It sounds like a great place to fall into….

  8. Very fond of Crane, whose poetry is completely unique in my experience, and not nearly as recognized as it should be, though of course, Red Badge of Courage is an amazing work, too. I like your vivid and soaring image, which suits very much the ambiance of the line.

I appreciate all comments.

