“Too Burnt to Cross” The Sunday Whirl and Napowrimo day #28

We borrowed words in exchange for
translations without understanding
to swim in our marrow; transparent
tears ran down cheeks and lips,
leaving thin remarks in the heart;
a harrowing knife pierced, stunned
´neath an oath misguided in youth.

Nothing’s rare when I sit here in
the sadness of last March; lost,
I am left to guess.

17 responses to ““Too Burnt to Cross” The Sunday Whirl and Napowrimo day #28

  1. words without understanding is a great phrase. Well wordled. I like that you left out grubs: so did I, sort of!

  2. You really ran with the words.

  3. Difficult words for such a compact piece… you did well!

  4. leaving thin remarks in the heart…great line…like the word play in remarks…nice centering it on last march as well…anchors it nice in reality…

  5. lost, I am left to guess. Love this.

  6. All the words in a short but still interesting piece!

  7. I especially love that last stanza!

  8. Intensely personal, yet made universal–esp like ‘..leaving thin remarks in the heart..’

  9. I left one word out last week. Am glad you went without grub because this just flows and you have wonderful poetic phrases as others have pointed out.

  10. I also like thin remarks in the heart. I feel it, somehow and thus comprehend the meaning. I did make it to the whirl, but it took some time. Two more days, whew!

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/04/28/pushed-beyond-limits/

  11. I thought all oaths were misguided in youth! As you get older each month has an abundance of sad memories. Great word pairing.

  12. As ever your opening line alone has my mind bubbling with thought..and the end..how vivid to be tricked by March..

  13. Trying to catch up this afternoon.
    “Transparent
    tears ran down cheeks and lips,
    leaving thin remarks in the heart”
    is gorgeous, Pamela!

  14. Thin remarks in the heart is a real winner.

  15. veronicabalfourpaul

    I liked this. the bit about translations without understanding swim in the marrow… really vivid.

  16. Love too burnt to cross and thin remarks in the heart- the images those two lines hold are magnificent.

I appreciate all comments.

