“Those Minutes” The Sunday Whirl #107

On the kitchen table,
peaches slice
fruitarian delight,
thriving in a dish
of honeysuckle love-in;
while I count a thousand minutes,
I think of you.
Not all messages charm,
sometimes we get lost in the dark,
even while holding hands.
In the bedroom, I dress for the fiesta,
thunderous fireworks pulse
walls, spitting ash
onto the street, reminding me of red,
fiery phony phrases
from yesterday as I fix myself in the mirror.

19 responses to ““Those Minutes” The Sunday Whirl #107

  1. Nice use of the words, Pamela! Love the rhythm in this piece. So much truth in this line:
    “sometimes we get lost in the dark,
    even while holding hands.”

  2. A very nuanced piece, pamela–life is complicated, and relationship as full of sputtering fireworks as Cinco de Mayo–most of all, I like the contemplative feel of your words here, not unemotional, but analytic and measured.

  3. honeysuckle love-in;…nice….love the honeysuckle and fruit…both sweet…the fireworks…sounds like there is fun in store…interesting contrast as wel in the fiery phony phrases

  4. Boy. How one word can reflect back! “Phony” turns the whole poem on end. Comes at just the right point.
    (I like “fruitarian”, too)

  5. I count a thousand minutes… love that. Are you celebrating Cinco De Mayo?

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2013/05/05/the-ultimate-revenge/

  6. fruitarian delight,
    thriving in a dish
    of honeysuckle love-in
    while I count a thousand
    minutes

    One takes pain to prepare oneself to meet any and every eventuality that comes by in life. Being prepared is being armed. Wonderful write Pamelita!

    Hank

  7. Mmm mmm.. celebrate well, my friend. Your words add beauty to my day.

  8. magicalmysticalteacher

    Oh, how true that not all messages charm, but the ones that do? Those messages stay with us forever!

    Whirling Along

  9. Some lovely images here. I like to think of you primping at the dressing mirror, preparing for a riotous carneval evening!

  10. I really love reading all the different places the wordle words take us. Some wonderful word images in this.

  11. So much nuance here–really lovely!

  12. You have packed every line of this poem with meanings – loaded really! My First Whirl

  13. reminding me of red,
    fiery phony phrases
    from yesterday as I fix myself in the mirror.

    Just love the whole poem, but that last stanza is a bit of a zinger. 🙂

  14. Ah, Cinco de Mayo, I get the red, Pamelita. This is more political than usual for you, and yet you set the whole poem in such a lovely place, with honeysuckle and dressing for the fiesta. Gracias, mi amiga! Amelita

  15. Spitting ash onto the street…great use of the word spit. It was hard to fit that word in, for me. Lovely poem.

  16. Pamela, A vivid depiction. Love this phrasing:
    “peaches slice
    fruitarian delight,
    thriving in a dish
    of honeysuckle love-in”
    An excellent write!

  17. ‘honeysuckle love in’ i love that! There is something cloying about it and yet heady..it is like preparing for the day that mirror check..a little salute before heading off on parade..

  18. Is this your protagonist poem? Do post it so we could follow along. Thrilled.

  19. I really like the comparison of the firecrackers to the last lines
    ‘red,
    fiery phony phrases
    from yesterday’
    as well as ‘
    sometimes we get lost in the dark,
    even while holding hands’
    I get a strong sense of your speaker from the poem, Pamela.

    margo

I appreciate all comments.

