“Cobalt to Steel” Margo Roby: Poetry Tryouts: Metaphor Your Poems

My poems are …

A quarter moon hanging from rafters
amongst shattered stars where a blue
bead strings itself between pearls,
changing cobalt to steel.

(I am of the land.)

They are fish swimming in an unseen ocean
beyond mountain view where words soak
my soul in lost shorelines along a beach
of fishermen.

(I am not a mariner.)

They are silent laughter in a lonely space
where smiles gather to feast on faces
and colours sing pink morning view,
secured cacti thorns cradle blossoms.

(I am my past.)

They are swing clouds in hazy sky,
dust on chairs and tables, a fire
thrusting its fist into the night.

(I dream telescope dreams.)

They are simply words,
nothing more.

9 responses to ““Cobalt to Steel” Margo Roby: Poetry Tryouts: Metaphor Your Poems

  1. Bless Margo for pulling these marvellous metaphors from you! I specially love the stanza
    “They are silent laughter in a lonely space
    where smiles gather to feast on faces
    and colours sing pink morning view,
    secured cacti thorns cradle blossoms.”

  2. I adore the first stanza. You had me at cobalt in the title, and I love ‘where a blue
    bead strings itself between pearls,
    changing cobalt to steel’. I like the way you have structured the poem to alternate your poems and you, the writer of your poems.
    This is beautiful, Pamela.

    margo

  3. “(I dream telescope dreams.)

    They are simply words,
    nothing more.”

    They are simply words, but so much more. They are the lens of your telescope reaching the stars.

    I am not a mariner – and yet I do so admire the sea.

    Thanks for your visit.

  4. i dream telescope dreams…what a cool line that pamela…ah but those words are so much more…fish swimming and silent laughter…ha…i love your metaphors…smiles

  5. I love these metaphors. The fire thrusting its fist into the night is especially vivid for me.

    -Nicole

I appreciate all comments.

