“A Small Corner” Synesthesia–Sensory Confusion, or…? dVerse Meeting the Bar with Victoria

Small stones of noise
where sighs of syllables
slip through the walls,
my body bends within
wisps of warmth’s cradle
as the night breeze kisses
the windowsill; I see the rooftop
greet a tree’s crown, bowing
to royalty; the shimmer
of onyx-pupil stars sitting
in sculptured universe is
only a small corner of mine.

28 responses to ““A Small Corner” Synesthesia–Sensory Confusion, or…? dVerse Meeting the Bar with Victoria

  1. oh nice..love the atmosphere you create with your verse here…sighs of syllables…aaahhhh…nice..and also the declaring the shining stars a part of yourself..very cool pamela

  2. nice opening line…a stone of noise….it gives it tangible weight…love the allit within wisps of warmths cradle…very cool write pamela…

  3. I enjoyed the sensations you brought forth from your small corner of the universe !! ” sighs of syllables” love this !!

  4. A brillian painting on all sense and the opening just draws you into it until you are at the windowsill … wonderful.

  5. You’ve written a wonderful poem using synesthsia, Pamela, and another thing that strike me in reading this aloud is the smooth flow created by alliteration. It just begs to be read aloud.

  6. This is wonderful. I love the ending and all it implies.

  7. Oopsie. I mean, I love your alliterations and the expression “onyx-pupil stars”. So beautiful.

  8. very beautiful… loved the ‘noise stones’ and onxy-pupil stars… really cool

  9. Such a luxurious poem. Full of richly shiny metaphores.

  10. ahh… sighs of syllables, wisps and kisses… gorgeous, Pamela.

  11. I love the imagery in this:
    I see the rooftop
    greet a tree’s crown, bowing
    in royalty

    Good work, Pamela ~

  12. Beautiful writing, Pamela. It strikes me that you are a person who often uses synesthesia. I think the technique comes natural to you!

  13. is the universe really sculptured or just random?

  14. The entire piece is a sigh of syllables, very pleasing to the ear

  15. the shimmer
    of onyx-pupil stars sitting
    in sculptured universe is
    only a small corner of mine

    Stunning words in this! I love it. -Mike

  16. Gosh this is like a word painting to get lost in…wonderful imagery and love the feelings it evokes!

  17. Love the opening with it moving from stones to syllables.

  18. sayantinibhattacharya

    “wisps of warmth’s cradle” my favorite line here. Love the synesthesia you brought to us 🙂

    another part of me

  19. ..this is lovely… i especially like: Small stones of noise..where sighs of syllables…slip through the walls,… ah, i missed those days when only the silence of scattered ancient rocks disturbs my curiosity… loved it… smiles…

  20. Delightful word choices, extra sensory (as opposed to extra-sensory) perception!

  21. Stunning first line, pamela, and the poem continues in strength and surety. I love the feel of the inner and outer world mingling, of both being the self in different forms, even that the inner makes the outer into ‘only a small corner.’ Loved it! Sorry to have been away so long.

  22. So love your opening lines
    ‘Small stones of noise
    where sighs of syllables
    slip through the walls,’
    just beautiful work, Pamela!
    K

  23. Lovely lovely – reminds me of sleeping in a warm beautiful place. Thanks. k.

  24. “wisps of warmth’s cradle
    as the night breeze kisses
    the windowsill;”
    So descriptive of the peace of a warm summer night. Lovely.

  25. what a beautiful interpretation of confused senses. So why did it make so much sense? Enjoyed.

  26. Thanks all, I wasn’t expecting such a plethora of wonderful comments. I am humbled. Joy Ann, your comments give me more insight to my writing, thank you.

  27. Flows like a soft stream.

I appreciate all comments.

