“Her Blank Beauty” dVerse Open Link #101

Referring to the past
is never epic,
it’s a breath,
an exhalation on
morality’s ability to
palmate, pulse, and push
me into her conformity

Yet often her dark
shade swills me;
this is not a dream,
it’s reality

Love is not discerning,
hate is unconcerned with outcome,
her blank beauty siphons my soul

Like the beach and its sand,
the ocean and its wetness,
the air and my breath

I dream that my heart is not lost
when I recant our conversations.

51 responses to ““Her Blank Beauty” dVerse Open Link #101

  1. Recanting, eh? I knew you’d see it my way!

  2. i much like the siphoning of the soul image… hate is unconcerned with outcome grabbed me as well…if we don’t care, it doesn’t matter…if we love…every syllable said or not said matters..

  3. ‘hate is unconcered with outcome,’ What a great line. Nicely penned, all of it.Thanks, >KB

  4. Excellent reflections.

  5. mmm nice…that last line is rather evocative in light of the journey you took through love & hate…hate is def soul sucking and take life, while love gives it….

  6. Pulled me in …. great verse.

  7. The phrase “her blank beauty” holds me, which is good because there seems to be a lot to muse on here – deep emotions.

  8. Pamelita, taking a break from moving by stopping in at my fave coffee joint in Madison, Java Cat (cats everywhere!) and found you first. Random chance landing me smack dab in the middle of such beauty and a bit of Corinthians wisdom… best lines, “morality’s ability to / palmate, pulse, and push / me into her conformity…” That’s how I feel every day, it resonated with me. Incidentally, the movers were both from Mexico and said my accent is not Puerto Rican, but Colombian! Hmmm… must have been my misbehaving in the 80s!! Love, Amelita

    • Interesting, a Colombian accent. I can understand most Spanish except people from Argentina. Thanks for reading and good luck with the move.

  9. The ending is sad I dream that my heart is not lost..may your heart never be lost..

  10. We are so intimately tied to the past, for better or worse. Sometimes recanting is like a little death. Powerful, complex emotions here–very well done!

  11. Love and hate and the pull between them…what an ocean of ebbing…love the last line especially.

  12. Beautiful reflection, Pamela.

  13. The title drew me into the poem and the ride was definitely worth it right to the sad end. Very complex poem!My Heart is Beating with Wishes

  14. I was struck with the pervading darkness here:
    Love is not discerning,
    hate is unconcerned with outcome,
    her blank beauty siphons my soul

    Terrific share ~

  15. The past, a wonderful description you have here. Love it.

  16. Hey Pamela

    shade swills me . . . her blank beauty siphons my soul

    you really make space with your words and allow your poetry to breathe. I suffocate my writing. so to visit here is a welcome b of f a. thanks Pamela 🙂

  17. Morality and conformity, love and hate…beautifully thought provoking.

  18. A poem to get lost in…very contemplative on the differences of this world as it is… quite beautiful.

  19. palmate as a verb is a new one on me. Influence of Spanish maybe?
    Very complex psychological offering.

    • In fact you are correct it is an adjective, Aprille, but it sounded good so I left it. 🙂

      • Hiya Pam,
        I’m all in favour for extending syntax and it does indeed make a good sounding new verb. I know the verb to palm, like in ‘palming a card’, but to palmate is a step up. Well done. What else can we invent?

  20. Very thought provoking… and the past with all it’s contents. Great read.

  21. I dream that my heart is not lost
    when I recant our conversations.

    Some moments of anxiety when recalling events in memory. Wonderful when endearment is not forsaken! Wonderful take Pamelita!

    Hank

  22. Like Sharp Little Pencil, I was really taken by the phrase “morality’s ability to palmate, pulse, and push me into her conformity”. But who’s morality?

  23. Pamela, this is a powerful shift from what I come to expect of you…just shows how versatile you are. Nicely done. Terse.

  24. kinda sad… but filled with life

  25. …aww, at first this made me think of a beauty that resides behind coffins before our Lord’s behest… smiles…

  26. The past has a powerful hold on us – and it is very difficult to escape from. I ove the line about hate not caring … that’s so true and is why hate is so destructive to both its object and subject.

    Strong writing, Pamela.

I appreciate all comments.

