“The Vigilant Mirror” dVerse Open Link #104

She returns to lightness,
a luminosity on leaves,
allowing growth, looking between
white and transparency,
a soul’s wish,
extended arms
in clear air.

A naked rose lives in this garden
on its inclination,
a summer night’s love
where words obscure windows.

The dreamer and the insomniac
collide in a vigilant mirror,
a time of white pillows
and messages in the fog.

26 responses to ““The Vigilant Mirror” dVerse Open Link #104

  1. returning to lightness…allowing growth….white pillows and fog.. i like the surreal spin of the images pam

  2. ha. the dreamer and the insomniac collide….the white messages in the fog is cool mysterious…and love your imagery around the rose pamela….

  3. It seems we both have problewms sleeping. Loved your last stanza.>KB

  4. Lovely images Pamela; I love She returns to lightness, words obscure windows and messages in the fog. Delicious.

  5. Love the contrast b/t the insomniac and dreamer.

  6. Loved the ending. Sleeplessness is no fun.

  7. Beautiful imagery. I think as poets we are prone to insomnia and daytime dreams.

  8. Dreamy…surreal…and haunting. I love it.

  9. Lovely use of words and emotions.

  10. Insomniac and dreamer – great contrast, and some really wonderful images here that you can really feel.

  11. Loved this–especially the close–

  12. …loved the duality in your last verse Pamela… it somehow made me see a bit of my own self & that part of me that resides behind the other portal of the mirror… smiles…

  13. Ha, I like that the dreamer and the insomniac collide in a vigilant mirror. Yes, the mirror sees all, knows all, understands all.

  14. She returns to lightness,
    a luminosity on leaves,
    allowing growth, looking between
    white and transparency,

    i loved this imagery, as i did the entire poem.

  15. Loved the opening and the whole poem. I could see and sense all of it like one cut in two…well that’s how it felt to me. Very nice Pamela! 🙂

  16. “where words obscure windows”

    That just really grabbed me.

  17. LOVED the last stanza, Pamelita. Insomniac meets dreamer, something’s gotta give, right? I’ve had experiences of insomnia as a child where I saw my eldest sister rise up out of herself in a white shade, looking back to regard her sleeping form. I’m sure it was not a dream, and that message was indeed in the “fog.” She’s bipolar, like me. I was five. Amy

  18. Agree with MZ – and such an interesting perspective – the pillows and fog – the insomniac certainly knows both. Lovely–thanks. k.

  19. And Pamela, I did join the Whirl this week. Did flash fiction for a change. Lots of fun. Thanks for the invite and I did acknowledge you, even before your “personal invite.”

  20. I like that last stanza too – collide in a vigilant mirror ~ Wishing you happy week ~

  21. A naked rose lives in this garden
    on its inclination,
    a summer night’s love
    where words obscure windows

    what a marvellous set this section makes Pamela.
    reminding me somewhat Larkin but imbued with
    a real sense of feeling and notion that I cant quite
    put my finger on, nor am I inclined to; I will just
    allow it to hang on the edge of reason and grow 🙂

  22. I love every word of this pamela–one of your stronger descriptive pieces, it still manages to be very lyric and carry a certain flair along with a subtle mood, and that last stanza really has the ring of truth(and experience, for me.) Also your use of ‘inclination’ is just perfect, both senses of the word giving that line real dimension. I’m going to repeat myself and say I loved it all again.

  23. this place of magic and fog… as words written in sand that disappear just as quickly in the outgoing tide…

I appreciate all comments.

