“O’er Yesterday’s Chill” The Sunday Whirl #119

Life’s core tours round
in dance, in decor;
gravity sends aureole charges
into southern nights.

I’ve seen this landscape
when day leaves moss and
smile-scented roses
like winds covering the light,
perfume hatches and lights languish still,
lying on a straw bed of stars and moonbeams.
The world depends on innocence,
where blood threads the veins.

Water unfolds salt,
sleeping with water-flowers
ploughed from depths.

A circle of silence in deserts of sound,
songs on a shadow arc,
youth’s flame veils the senses.

Witches howl my sorrowed mood
in green felt pastures begotten still
where moon-dust writhes o’er yesterday’s chill.

17 responses to ““O’er Yesterday’s Chill” The Sunday Whirl #119

  1. the world depends on innocence…love that line…there is a truth in there…
    what a vivid close as well…the moon dust writhing over yesterdays chill…that is shiver worthy for sure….

  2. Your images here “winds covering light” – “water unfolding salt” are simply marvelous – loved this poem 🙂

  3. I could smell, feel, see, hear and taste as I read… ‘Youth’s flame’ no longer burning… 😦

  4. This was a lovely piece. I enjoyed every line, but that one about the world depends on innocence, caught my attention, and like Brian, I loved the ending. Thanks.

  5. Those last two stanzas are absolutely stunning.

  6. This is gorgeous, Pamela. From “smile-scented roses” to the stellar ending, you’ve written a gem. Like Viv, I’m stunned by the last two stanzas. I keep rereading them. Gorgeous.

  7. I have to add that the ending is great. I also liked the metaphores through out the poem.

  8. So much beauty in these images, Pamela. I especially like “a circle of silence in a desert of sound.”

  9. Everyone else has pointed out the very things that caught and kept my attention. Beautiful? Yes. In a very Pamela way.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/08/03/cloud-shadow/

  10. Witches howled my sorrowed mood…..I loved this line although there are so many wonderful ones already commented on! Beautifully expressed!

  11. A lush piece. I like this line especially:
    The world depends on innocence,
    where blood threads the veins.

  12. A circle of silence in deserts of sound,
    songs on a shadow arc,
    youth’s flame veils the senses.

    Silence can be misconstrued and misleading. Compounded with youthful vigor not revealing their feel. That’s how I read this! Great imagery Pamelita!

    Hank

  13. The words you used were delightful, so much so I had to read it over and over.

  14. How one problem with this poem, deciding what stanza was the best!!!

    A circle of silence in deserts of sound,
    songs on a shadow arc,
    youth’s flame veils the senses.

    Ok decide this was perfect.

  15. innocence keeps us humble, sometimes we need that pause in our growth process

    much love…

  16. A beautifully penned piece Pam, lovely lines and images…I agree with many who have said how true the words about innocence ring…nicely done.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2013/08/dancing-in-someone-elses-shoes.html

I appreciate all comments.

