“A Slow Axis” The Sunday Whirl #130

The world mends
while it bends on a slow axis,
and days drag slow and weary
while rain pelts
thunder clouds
as language circles
in dance.

Everything’s born
fitting along
its appropriate edge.

She sleeps in towers
of fog, disposes keys
in insomnia’s presence
where swallows fly binding
the moon in long fields
first mute with amazement,
like dawn on seas with wind-worn face
fleeing on top of the day.

She writes the name of others,
leaving them in the sand,
time’s a voice that yells from the hills
in sleepy prophet pulling gold
through eyelets of the stars.

16 responses to ““A Slow Axis” The Sunday Whirl #130

  1. I couldn’t make your link work, and arrived here via your comment. It’s all good, but that last stanza in particular, is wonderful.

  2. I like your idea of everything “fitting along its appropriate edge”.

  3. There is so much beauty in this piece but none better than that “sleepy prophet pulling gold through the eyelets of stars”.

  4. pulling gold through the eyelets of stars…what a cool closing image…i like too that all things have a place…sometimes it is just the finding of it that takes time you know…smiles.

  5. When I clicked on your name, I could smell the sweet scent, and again when read your words. Really nice prefume. You please all my senses.

  6. She writes the names of others, leaving them in the sand, time’s a voice that yells from the hills. I love those lines.

  7. Such a brilliant imagery in your verses. A wonderful write. I especially liked the last stanza.
    -HA

  8. I too vote for the last stanza. There is enchanted magic there.

  9. There is so much beauty in your verses, Pamela…Just before I came here, I had a thought about Pegasus cracking open the fountain of creativity that his mate might slack her thirst. I know how she felt…thank you.

    Elizabeth

  10. There is a thick dreaminess in this insomnia..like past the point of tired into some strange magic..beautiful..and yet underneath that fog sticks..

  11. disposes keys in insomnia’s presence. this is a remarkable poem full of dark atmosphere.

  12. the last stanza sparkles.

  13. Such beauty in your lines and love that last line, Pamela.

  14. magicalmysticalteacher

    “eyelets of the stars”

    I am so grateful to begin my day with this dazzling image! Thank you!

    My Sunday Whirl

  15. The third stanza sends my thoughts out over that field opening your images. I love this, Pamela.

  16. Words were used seamlessly. I particularly love the last two lines.

I appreciate all comments.

