“This Blind at Last” Open Link Night #127

Write this paper night away
in delicate thought
like a crumbled river

or a hole to kill
some runnel ground
through this pointed storm by bleakened pen

unraveled verses drip forever
blackened streams cannot deliver
shameless once you floated open
off to poem,
I think of you

yet pouring eyes
did blind at last by morning’s sorrow left uncast

to beckon me shall do no good
your love was wooden burned in flame
and laughing vounteers that read your sordid work have fallen dead

14 responses to ““This Blind at Last” Open Link Night #127

  1. Powerful metaphors…esp. “blackened streams” and the closing stanza too.

  2. def heavy in metaphor…trying to determine if there is anger behind this…as it is very pointed toward someone….but also a saddened feeling for them…

  3. I agree that this poem has beautiful metaphors, Pamela. It has quite a classic feel to it, as I read it. Wooden love burned in flame makes me want to know more.

    Happy New Year, Pamela!

  4. I’ll be round to read tomorrow afternoon. I am entirely too exhausted this evening, Life is not kind at the moment. Tomorrow’s got to be better.

  5. It doesn’t sound as though it is kind… I pray this night will be restful and bring peace to you.

  6. Pamela, hope your rest brings a better morning. Sorry to hear of life’s treatment of you. Your poem speaks of its unkindness. I hope the pouring eyes bring relief to you. Tomorrow will be better.

  7. Love your form Pam – my favorite lines…bkm

    unraveled verses drip forever
    blackened streams cannot deliver
    shameless once you floated open
    off to poem,
    I think of you

  8. A powerful poem, which mirrors your mood. Remember my resolution: Cheerfulness in adversity. Hard to do but it can lift your spirits even when life treats you badly.

  9. I was drawn in and held from the first stanza. Such a wonderful piece of writing. I do wonder what inspired it though, Pamela.

  10. I loved it from the first words chosen to the last!!!

  11. very cool images… my fav is writing the papernight away

  12. So many black metaphor… I came here forewarned from your Monday comment… Hope all is well.

  13. flow and wordplay (bleakened, blackened) and metaphor in abundance. A beautifully written poem.

  14. i liked the movement in the piece

I appreciate all comments.

