This poem was written for me: By my lovely, artistic and poet friend, Annell Livingston. Thank you, Annell.

“A Trial by Fire”

The Alchemist
In the mouth
The taste of metal
Persists
Cold and lonely
The sun
Ceases to shine
Heart
Ceases to beat

In darkness
The wind howls
Moans and knocks
At the door
Silver threads
From my heart
Reach for you
We compare
Photos
Memories

You must
Travel alone
First attempts
Rudimentary
Reinforcements
Will not come
No ‘Dudley Do-right’
Or Superhero
No salvation

You are the
Sorceress
Step into
The water’s
Edge
Sing your
Lonely
Whale song

Cast your
Glamour
Pocket your
Charms
Transform
Base metals
Into gold
Enlightenment
Is yours

February 1, 2014

6 responses to “This poem was written for me: By my lovely, artistic and poet friend, Annell Livingston. Thank you, Annell.

  1. Beautifully correct…heartfelt and deeply caring…I wish I had written it,

    Elizabeth

  2. I’m glad I was able to give it to you. As I told you, I am never sure, but it came from the heart. It was sweet of you to post it.

  3. smiles…what a cool gift…a heartfelt verse…

    and i am sorry it is getting worse…you have my prayers…and my ear if you need….

  4. A lovely gift of friendship. (hugs)

  5. True words, beautifully felt, beautifully said. Thoughts are with you, pamela.

  6. Thanks again, Annell. Thanks to you who have commented. Cold and lonely I am at this moment.

    Pamela

I appreciate all comments.

